Go With It

On the way to receive the results from last week’s CT scan, I told my husband that I feel as if have accepted this routine as part of my life. Asthma, fighting to stay in remission, anxiety, and depression, are the little gnats of my personality—the challenges which have shaped me into the person I am, but I don’t have to define myself by them.

Whatever the radiologist saw on my right lung 3 months ago, is gone. The lesion on my liver–gone. The lesion on my spleen is still there, but no change. A follow up is required in another six months.

So—I’m still in remission.

And this is my life, and I will live it, as it should be lived, batting at the gnats which make life a challenge at times. But, that is all they are–challenges. They have made me stronger, and opened my eyes to what is truly beautiful—life.

I am happy about my results, but yet, I have a heavy heart for the person who was diagnosed today, who died today, who was told they are no longer in remission. For the families supporting their loved ones who are fighting, or grieving their loss.

My thoughts are with you.

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Go With It

  1. Cathy Bohlae says:

    WooHoo…….good news and so happy for you….as long as you are okay with this news!!
    Hugs to you and your hubby…you seem very lucky to have him!!!

  2. meANXIETYme says:

    It’s so okay to be happy about your remission. I am happy for you. And I am happy for the life you get to live, just as it is.

    • April says:

      I could do with a lot less anxiety, and I’m hoping to keep from swimming in the depression pool, but just like those, cancer–or the fear of recurrence–will live with me and I just have to suck it up like I do with the others.

  3. aviets says:

    I’m so glad you shared your good news. And so thankful that you have good news to share.
    -Amy

  4. What a thoughtful post April. I am so very happy for you, but like you, heavy in the heart for those who’s news was not as good. So much to consider and be aware of.

  5. You are really into the good ways April 😀

  6. suzjones says:

    Yay! Yay! Yay!!!!!!!!! I’m soooooo excited to hear your news Miss April. Big virtual sloppy kisses and hugs coming your way right now. 🙂

  7. reocochran says:

    I am happy with the words, “I am still in remission, April!!” Woo-hoo! Yippee! Congratulations on this good news! I like how you said you “opened my (your) eyes to what is truly beautiful- life.”
    I know you will always have to worry, there is no one who wouldn’t after all you have gone through, my dear! Believing in the beauty around you, the love you have for others and compassion will surely be wonderful gifts that you have for the rest of your life. Hugs, Robin

  8. mewhoami says:

    Yay!! That’s wonderful news, April! So happy to hear this.

  9. Gallivanta says:

    Great news but, like you, I also had a heavy heart for others the day my biopsy came back clear.

    • April says:

      Thanks. I always have a delayed reaction after my scans. My husband is over the top with happiness, and I’m numb. I think it is because I wonder if I will be like the lady with the oxygen tank, one day. But….I will focus on better things, and keep hoping that I have seen the last of cancer.

  10. Tracy says:

    This is such wonderful news!!! Yay!!! ❤️❤️❤️

Comments are closed.