Here Kitty Kitty

I have some serious thoughts on my mind–not the poor pitiful me thoughts–but I’ve decided to be less serious this morning.

Actually, I forgot about this incident, until I was perusing through the photos on my phone, and came across this photo. Trying to figure out how to get it off my phone and onto the computer was another problem. Β 2014-05-16 153822-5230566

As we were clearing my father-in-law’s house, of course, we had to spend some time outdoors. We studied the construction of odd things made by critters we are unfamiliar with, like little mud lines, with holes in them, where corners met on the porch. Is it a bee? Is it something creepier?

We saw squirrels that were black–or dark brown–with reddish tails. The squirrels were cat-sized. Well, maybe that’s an exaggeration, but they were big.

Being the hunter, my husband always has his eyes peeled to wooded areas, fields–all over–looking for any kind of movement. As hard as I try, I rarely see what he sees.

We were standing in the front of the house, when my husband and his brother saw some movement. A furry looking brown thing climbing a bush. Could it be a kitten? When I finally saw what they were pointing out to me, I was curious.Β We wondered—what is it?

Okay, so the crazy cat lady crossed the area calling, Here kitty, kitty.

Kitty, kitty, kitty.

We arrived at the bush, only to discover it wasn’t a cat, it was a something else. Our Pacific Northwest Suburban upbringing had us guessing it was some kind of gopher. The consensus was a rodent of some sort.

But to me, it will be the little kitty in the bush, that wasn’t. My poor eyesight, and desire to find a stray cat–even though I have no clue how I can handle another animal–was great fodder for laughter. When I came across the forgotten photo, it still made me laugh.

2014-06-21 174828-278460

By the way…..

I found a Thing to tie my shoes, but he seemed a bit stiff–so I just ran my fingers through his hair.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Here Kitty Kitty

  1. Nice to read so positiv a post from you April πŸ™‚

  2. meANXIETYme says:

    LOL I love that photo of Thing who ties shoes.

    I often worry about my poor long-distance eyesight… and what kind of critter I’m going to be sneaking up on without knowing if it’s a piece of fallen log in our back acre or an animal. πŸ™‚

  3. aviets says:

    Wow, I have no idea what that creature is. If I’d seen it, that would bother me for the rest of my life, just wondering… -Amy

  4. suzjones says:

    Funny stuff. πŸ™‚ Here kitty, kitty…. lol

  5. Hahahahahaha! He looks like he is enjoying it! But funnier….YOU look like you’re enjoying it! πŸ™‚

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Wouldn’t you have been amazed if the Not a Kitty had answered the kitty kitty call?

  7. mewhoami says:

    How funny. I love the picture of you and Thing. He looks so happy! (thinking of you today)

  8. reocochran says:

    I am laughing at this occurrence that happened before they ever filmed that commercial with the woman who is calling “Kitty, kitty” to the raccoon in the yard! You had this idea, by actually doing it yourself with poor eyesight. April, too bad you didn’t sell it to a commercial company and made some money on the funny experience! Smiles, Robin

    • April says:

      That commercial makes me laugh. The cat that I have been nursing back to health lately, is a fluffy, and walks like a raccoon. It’s time for an eye exam, though.

Comments are closed.