Grunt and Squeak and Squawk With the Animals

We have all heard the saying – be careful what you wish for – that isn’t a made up phrase by someone without experience. Whether you ask for certain things from God, The Universe, or….

Pay close attention, your wish will be granted, perhaps in a way you don’t expect.

It is now Thursday. I only have four more days until I receive the results of my scan. I did just write that sentence, but I’m really not thinking about it much. I can’t do a thing about it, so my energies are directed elsewhere.

This week, just so happens to be the fiasco of animal ownership, and being too accommodating.

I’m not so sure how much I’m repeating, but I know I have blogged about mornings with my posse. The posse usually consists of 3 cats and one dog. Since the Vampires moved in, that has increased to 4 cats, one dog, and 1 cat in the basement. At the moment, we are also keeping our youngest son’s cat, who is afraid of his dog, and petrified of our mastiff. If I could find a home for her, she would make a wonderful one-animal-only pet.

Added up, that makes 6 cats in our home, and with the visiting grand puppy, that makes 2 dogs.

My sick, floofy kitty is in exile in the abandoned bedroom of our daughter. I’m told that his problem is due to environmental stress, plus I have to keep track of his output.

Our youngest son’s kitty is in exile in the abandoned bedroom of our oldest son. She wants out, but I think it would be hard on her as well as the other cats–my crotchety old fart cats, who don’t want another cat in their territory.

We had the grand puppy again last night. The only thing she fears is the Scrawy Old Cat, who weighs in at a whopping 6.5 pounds.

The puppy is part Australian Shepherd, so of course, she has the characteristics of a herding dog. She likes to chomp at our heals as we walk by, and what she does to the cats is downright mean. Of course, we are trying to train her, but it’s taking her a while to learn her lessons.

Our mastiff is in her golden years. Actually, I think mastiffs reach two years old, and after that, they live in their golden years. Ours has turned into a female curmudgeon–or I suppose since she is a she, maybe that would be an old biddy. Curmudgeon fits better.

Anyway, we have to keep the ankle chomper away from the old lady. The grand puppy would be a snack for our mastiff. Plus, we know that the mastiff has a propensity for fighting with other female dogs, and I don’t think I can handle another bloody fight. I don’t think the grand puppy would be the victor.

So—do you have a picture of my zoo?

This morning, I have 3 cats roaming around, 2 cats in exile, and 1 cat that lives in the basement with the vampires. I have to switch out the dogs between their crates to give them equal time outside and freedom from being caged.

The puppy has toys strewn all over the living room, most of them have been gutted and beheaded. She wants to play a particular game with me this morning, of pushing a ball toy under the couch, and digging at it until I get on my hands and knees to retrieve it for her. I have played along a few times, but the ball is going to stay under the couch for now.

Here comes the tricky part.

The puppy is extremely exuberant in the morning. I have to let the crotchety mastiff outside before opening the crate of the puppy. By the time she is let out she is mighty excited. Stupidly, I get down on her level, and she knocks me over with loves and kisses. I really don’t like dog tongues, especially in my ear or up my nose. But I love my little grand puppy.

I feed the old dog outside, and the puppy inside. No problem.

Then comes the challenge of feeding the cats. Our oldest son’s cat–the one I refer to as The Rotund Cat, is a speed eater. He scarfs down his food, and then nudges the others out of the way to eat theirs. I could feed him in the bathroom, but it doesn’t matter because I now feed the others separately.

The Scrawny Old Man has to be fed tiny amounts of food throughout the day, or it comes right back up. He’s a bulimic kitty, always has been. Anyway, the other one – Chronic Snotty Nosed Cat, only eats little bits at a time and Rotund Kitty finishes up. Now I have to put medicine in her food, so I feed the Scrawny Old Cat, and the Chronic Snotty Nosed Cat near me, so that I can defend their food bowls from the not-so-stealth movements of Rotund Cat encroaching on their food source.

I have to run the food to the exiled cats, give them some love, and switch out the dogs.

All of this prior to coffee.

I believe, I would be a “challenged” Grandma. Of course, I could keep the dog crates for each visiting grandchild. 😀 Ha! But that would just be mean.

Hope you have a fun day, I have to chase after a puppy, who has something in her mouth she shouldn’t.

 

 

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Grunt and Squeak and Squawk With the Animals

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    Oh my goodness, I’d be exhausted before my eyes were even open! I applaud you, Fur-Mama, for all you do to keep your zoo running smoothly! LOL

  2. mewhoami says:

    That sounds exhausting – all of it. I almost got tired just by reading this. 🙂 Also, I have never heard this statement put so eloquently “keep track of his output”. That was great. Sounds like another unpleasant task. You’ve got your hands full. Well, hopefully not full of the output. Ha!

  3. You are not bored April 😀
    I think that you have more than enough to do now. How long time do you need to be babysitter? Thought about your stressed kitty.

  4. Suddenly I am very aware of the peace and quiet surrounding me. 😉

  5. suzjones says:

    You so make me laugh April. I couldn’t handle so many animals I don’t think. I have enough problems with the Diva some days. She has been helping me in my task or de-cluttering and organising my craft/computer room this week. As she loves paper and plastic so much, she has been in her element. Of course she is disappointed that many of her hidey-holes are now gone but she has voiced her displeasure by chewing the corner of pieces of paper. It has been an interesting week with her that’s for sure. As I type this, she is back at the base of my desk and eyeing off the new shelving above. I keep catching her in this position. The day she tries to reach the shelves is the day that she will learn to fly (with my assistance). 🙂

    • April says:

      It’s actually pretty insane to have so many animals. When the kids move out, finally, we will be back down to 3 cats and a dog. However, the dog and two of the cats are old. Unfortunately, sooner or later, we will have to say goodbye to them. They will not be replaced. One cat is more than enough for me. I always have help with computer work and paperwork. Mine sit right on top of what I’m doing. They can be persistent little things.

Comments are closed.