Head Slapping Mindfulness

Lately, I’ve had quite a few head slappers–I suppose some would call them face palms. I call them head slappers because they go beyond a simple face palm. My definition of head slapping is when I have been doing something the hard way, for an extended period of time, and someone points out, or I recognize it myself, an easier way to achieve the desired result. Obvious–very obvious–ways.

I have been recognizing many dumb ass shenanigans recently. Maybe it has to do with the mindful way I’m striving to live my life, and I pay more attention. However, I continue to make life harder than it is. At least some of the tasks required to function in a reasonable, mindful manner.ย Last night, I pulled my husband into my shenanigans.

We have internet through a cable company, and our television is through satellite. Okay, so I get the two mixed up from time to time, because until we moved south, we always had cable and internet through the same cable company.

We are supposed to be able to watch on demand shows by using our remote, but we always receive an error message.

My husband is a type of person who can get results by being very calm and polite, so I handed him the phone and told him to call and complain. It was one of those calls with the stinkin’ recorded message you have to speak, or press a number in hopes of actually reaching a live person.

It must have been a bad day for him, because he was uncharacteristically cussing at the recordings, and everything he tried was backfiring on him. He finally got a person, and explained our frustration with the remote/on demand feature–as well as how frustrating their automated phone system is.

He was actually patronizing while answering the question of how he was related to the cable tv account, while I’m in the background saying it may be under my name, and our television shows we are connected to the internet.

He relayed that information, while talking to the person as if they were a child.

The person on the other end of the line said we didn’t have cable television, which he repeated back as if the person on the other end, was not all there.

At that moment, my eyes opened wide and I put my hand over my mouth, and said oh! we don’t have cable television. He said a quick, oh I’m sorry, and hung up abruptly.

Of course, I was laughing my silly head off, but he wasn’t appreciating the humor in the situation. I gave him the wrong number. I gave him the number we have our internet service with.

I don’t see my husband mad very often, but he was grumbling about me giving him the wrong number as he poured a glass of wine.

A head slapper, but very hilarious to me, because I’ve done it to myself one too many times.

Practicing mindfulness had been quite revealing.

…and my husband eventually saw the humor in the situation.

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Head Slapping Mindfulness

  1. aviets says:

    Ooops. I’ve actually had the same kind of thing happen to me. The worst part of it is dragging someone else down with you. Ouch. -Amy

  2. Yeah, we learn new things every day, if we pay the needed attention April ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. mewhoami says:

    That’s so funny. How embarrassed he must have been, but it sounds like overall, he handled it well.

    • April says:

      No, he wasn’t really embarrassed. He usually catches himself before he gets snagged in my web of confusion. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. suzjones says:

    I’m sure your husband will see the humour in a day or so. It’s not hard to make mistakes like that sometimes.

  5. Hehehehehehehehe….. honest mistake made for our entertainment pleasure. ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments are closed.