Gone Gone Gone

I’m not an expert on the topic of grief, but I’m well experienced in the process of grieving. I know enough to know that each of us grieve in different ways.

A drive down a beautiful countryish road.

A tune coming from the car radio–a song I like, it warms my heart.

The words–I’ll love you when you’re gone gone gone–and there it is.

The wash of grief. The unexpected tears making it difficult to see the road.

I try to focus on the beautiful Magnolia blooms that are bursting, the beginnings of the pink puffs on the Mimosa trees.

It all seems surreal.

I navigate my thoughts from the pain over loss, and remember their lives. Remembering a personal characteristic unique to that person, and that one, and that one…..

The memory of my dad, triggers the memory of my brother, my sister, my grandma, the memory of…..

I breathe.

Take a moment.

Remember their lives, and I smile because I had the pleasure of their presence in my life.

And that makes me blessed.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gone Gone Gone

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    Beautiful. Thank you for sharing it.

  2. You’re right, remembering some distinct trait helps. What an incredibly blessed life we are leading when we think of it that way.

  3. I think that you found a very good way for you to remember good souls in your life April 🙂

  4. mewhoami says:

    It does come in waves, that’s for sure. I love how you try to focus on, or at least end those moments with the calming thought of how precious having them in your life was. What a gift it is to have such wonderful people in our lives, even if only for a short time.

  5. tric says:

    I have had some awful losses in my life, my Dad and close friends. Then last year a close friends young boy. I always found it so difficult to drive into the houses of those who were dying and imagine the day I would do so and they would be gone. It is so difficult sometimes when the world keeps turning but you need time out to remember.
    You have had a lot of loss, and trauma, yet continue to travel through life. Well done you, and as you remember I’m sure your loved ones are by your side.

  6. suzjones says:

    Hugs to you my dear. Your writing was pure poetry today.

  7. Ah April, that was so sweetly said. How wonderful to celebrate what you had with them. ❤

  8. Gallivanta says:

    Blessed indeed. 🙂

Comments are closed.