Good Morning Starshine

This song, from the musical, Hair–circa 1968, has been running through my mind for days–many days. If you aren’t familiar with it, you can find it on YouTube. I’ll bet it repeats in your mind. I especially like the Gliddy glub gloopy chorus. But I am rather tired of the song, and I’m wondering if they just couldn’t create words that actually meant something.

Good morning starshine, the earth says hello
You twinkle above us, we twinkle below
Good morning starshine, you lead us along
My love and me as we sing our
Early morning singin’ song

Gliddy glub gloopy nibby nabby noopy
La la la, lo lo
Sabba sibbi sabba nooby aba naba
Lee lee, lo lo
Tooby ooby wala
Nooby aba naba
Early morning singin’ song

Good morning starshine, the earth says hello
You twinkle above us, we twinkle below
Good morning starshine, you lead us along
My love and me as we sing our
Early morning singin’ song

Gliddy glub gloopy nibby nabby noopy
La la la, lo lo
Sabba sibbi sabba nooby aba naba
Lee lee, lo lo
Tooby ooby wala
Nooby aba naba
Early morning singin’ song

Singin’ a song, hummin’ a song
Singin’ a song
Lovin’ a song, laughin’ a song
Singing a song

Sing the song
Song the sing
Song, song, song sing
Sing, sing, sing song

Song, song, song sing
Sing, sing, sing song

Good morning! Hope you have a beautiful day, and find your song. πŸ˜€

 

Read more: Hair – Good Morning Starshine Lyrics | MetroLyrics

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Good Morning Starshine

  1. Gallivanta says:

    I had no idea!

  2. aviets says:

    Such a goofy song, from such a goofy time…thank goodness that’s an ear worm I never get!
    -Amy

  3. suzjones says:

    Yes they are silly words but it begs the question “What were they on when they wrote them”? lol

  4. Can’t get it outta my head. Now I will Youtube it to make sure I’m singing it right. And no need to get it out of my head either! πŸ™‚

  5. mewhoami says:

    I am so happy that I’ve never heard that song before. That way I won’t have it stuck in my head. My husband and I were recently talking about the use of non-words in songs. My suggestion, is that it would be much easier, and easier on the ears, if they would just end the song when they ran out of words, instead of adding giddy guppy, ya ya ya to it.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    When I first started working as a patient rep. at the state hospital, I didn’t have a car. This meant walking 4 blocks to the bus stop every morning. I would sing that song as I walked along. It got me inspired for my day, and the beat was perfect if I double timed it with my stride.

Comments are closed.