Wisdom From The Pie Hole

I have given many motivational speeches to my kids. Some have been met with sighs, eye rolling, and out-and-out tuning me out–evident by the glazed over eyes. However, they’re dang good speeches.

The titles of my speeches…..

If you try something and it doesn’t work, then try something else.

There is no such thing as a mistake, mistakes are lessons.

Be kind, even if others aren’t kind in return. You don’t know what they are personally struggling with.

Don’t walk through our neighbor’s yards, it’s rude and that’s what sidewalks are for, respect their property.

Never give up because there is always a solution.

We use tissues, not our sleeves.

Believe in your abilities. Some may not be perfect to others, but they are perfect because you tried.

Learn the difference between what you have control over changing, and what you don’t. You can’t change others to be the way you want them to be.

One of my latest – Be kind to your dad and me, one day you may have to take care of us, and we are already plotting our revenge to act like teenagers.

And my personal favorite…no matter what, no matter where, if you need us, we will be there in a heartbeat, void of judgement.

Our oldest son—the one I feel as if I’ve lost? He’s there, I know he loves us. He just has to find his path, and we have to let him.

All those speeches? I need to listen to a few of them. The words come out of my mouth, and I honestly believe in what I’m saying. It’s how I strive to live, and I need to remind myself to listen.

Maybe I need a little time with my nose stuck in the corner to think about it. 😀

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Wisdom From The Pie Hole

  1. mewhoami says:

    Taking our own advice… It sure sounds good, but sometimes it’s so hard to do.

  2. I think your titles make a perfect speech all by themselves. And you don’t have to sit in a corner to dwell upon your thoughts. 🙂 But if it makes you feel better you should do it. 🙂

  3. suzjones says:

    I have been told on a number of occasions by people to read my own blog sometimes. Yesterday another blogging buddy posted on her FB page about listening to her own advice. I think we are all guilty of having the answers but not listening to what we say at times.
    I’ll join you in that little club 🙂

    • April says:

      Why do we do this? I keep returning to questions asking myself if I would treat another the same, and I wouldn’t. We need to learn that we are just as worthy as being kind to.

      • suzjones says:

        We are our own worst enemies at times. I think the measuring stick we use for ourselves is much harsher than the one we use for others.

        • April says:

          Isn’t that sad. I would think that if we used a better measuring stick for ourselves, that would make us more compassionate to others. It’s hard work to give ourselves a break. I feel better about myself these days, but I still have my setbacks. The big thing, I let the setbacks happen without destroying me completely.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    May I join you in the corner? 😀

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    I used to have an aunt who wouldn’t stop giving me advice. Some of it was good. I just wished she wouldn’t dole it out all the time. Also, I wish she would listen to herself, which she didn’t. I finally told her, “Practice what you preach.” Yes, she was mad, but it did stop her from giving to constant advice.

    My son gave me this advice too, so I guess I’ve been like my aunt was. It’s hard to listen to yourself.

Comments are closed.