The Lawyer’s Assistant

Okay, now for a lighter topic where I found some humor.

I thought I have lived in some smallish towns, but Nowhere, is so much smaller than any place I’ve lived. The population is somewhere around 4500.

From what I saw, there are most of the normal things that towns have. Churches, a hospital, lawyers, a couple of restaurants, a couple of motels (not sure both were in operation), gas stations, banks, a cafe, a bakery, a feed shop, a nut shop (the kind we eat—an entire store selling varieties of nuts), a drive-through liquor shop, and of course, Walmart. There is also the grocery store with the dead deer heads, for the people who fought against Walmart and lost–therefore, they refuse to give them their business.

The lady who works with, or assists the three lawyers in the office handling the estate of my father-in-law, is a character—like no other character I’ve ever met. I’m not exactly sure what her job title is, but she knows everybody in town, and one of the first questions she asked me was, what our religious affiliation was.

That’s a tough question for me, because I don’t want to be judged–especially in a town we may live in. We don’t follow any organized religion. I have said before, that my church is in the beautiful outdoors we are so blessed to have. That is where I feel closest to God.

I’m not going to go any further into my religious beliefs because I’m happy with where I stand, and I will never force others to believe what I do. I appreciate the same respect.

She further went on to tell me that she has a problem with people who get their britches in a bunch. I assured her that my britches stay in place, and I’m a pretty open minded person.

Anyway, she asked me what my hobbies were. I rattled them off, and she informed me she is friends with a lady who has a group of knitters/spinners in the community.Β Bonus!

I like blunt, up front people—genuine people.

She is that, and then some. She gets so up in your space, she sucks you into her universe.

She dropped by during the garage sale, and purchased a few of the larger items to pick up a couple of days later. She went through every cabinet and every room–which had all been emptied except for the rooms with our personal stuff.

A couple of days later, she came to gather her items, and looked through everything again–not exactly sure why.

I helped, who I guessed to be her daughter, load up the car with her items.

On one of the trips inside, there was the lawyer’s assistant—sitting on the commode—with the door to the bathroom wide open.

Oh my, and it wasn’t even the third date!

Sorry, I don’t have a picture to share with y’all, that just wouldn’t be right. πŸ˜€

Small town living may be a struggle, but being an introvert, it sounds like heaven to me.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Lawyer’s Assistant

  1. aviets says:

    Oh. My. Goodness. You have a much better attitude than I would have. Here I am, having worked in a church for ten years, and if someone started a conversation with a question about my religious affiliation, I would be incensed. They’d be on my LIST permanently. But I think that was a pretty accurate introduction to what small town living in this part of the world would be like. πŸ™‚
    -Amy

    • April says:

      I think I looked at her with that deer in the headlight look, batting my eyes, desperately searching my mind for an answer. I was afraid she was going to preach to me, after all, we had already had the experience with another friend of my husband’s dad.

  2. Valerie says:

    Hmm, maybe a small town ISN’T what would appeal to me…maybe. πŸ˜› We are looking at moving to Upson county at some point. Not tiny, but definitely not a suburb, like I’m used to.

    • April says:

      If we still had young kids, I might think a little harder about a move like this. While small town living seems appealing for a simple life, I am glad mine grew up in the Suburbs. Funny–two of them want to live in a city now.

  3. You managed this very well April πŸ™‚

  4. suzjones says:

    Too funny. I would say that she is also the town gossip. lol

  5. mewhoami says:

    She does sound like quite the character. Small towns have their share of them, which is one thing that makes small towns so great. I grew up in a small town and loved it! Would do it again in a heartbeat, if life ever allows.

    • April says:

      It’s been a dream, but had no idea I would have to compromise on the location. But, such is life.

      • mewhoami says:

        You may be surprised later, and grow to love it. πŸ™‚

        • April says:

          You know, I am happy to be alive. I know that I sound a little down a lot of the time, and there are a lot of times I AM down. But, I was given a second chance to not have to fight a horrific fight against cancer, and I am going to fight hard to believe I will live to an old age, not on an oxygen machine either. So…no matter where we live, as long as I have my husband, and we will be able to visit any grandchildren, I think I will be content.

  6. Okay, well, that was a little bizarre. πŸ™‚

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Oh boy……that’s friendly! Quite pleased you haven’t got a photo of the commode episode. The image in my mind is already far too vivid for comfort. πŸ˜€

  8. Glynis Jolly says:

    Pure entertainment, April. I knew someone who uses the bathroom without closing the door. I never could figure out what the problem was with her and this habit. Was she claustrophobic? Was she afraid of missing something outside the walls of the bathroom? Who knows. I hope you like this little little town. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.