Another Day

You know those commercials with the sexy woman, walking seductively, hair flowing around her face? Yeah, that’s not me, but that’s how I feel when I walk into the Cancer Center.

Confident.

I’m more like a floofy (the word my daughter and I use for plump) middle-aged lady, usually tripping over my own feet, with my hair flowing around my face, but it’s wild from the humidity in the air. Hair gets in my eyes and mouth, which is followed by a bunch of pbbt type noise

I’m confident, until I open the door to the clinic. My long hair becomes something I wish I could hide from all those who have lost theirs. I’ll keep growing it, and if I don’t need it, perhaps another will benefit.

The best thing I have accomplished, is to stop “researching” the prognosis of my cancer. It’s almost as frustrating as trying to get to the real issues and facts of any politician. Everybody has an opinion, but incomplete information is always apparent.

I will continue to fight–even through the breakdowns.

I have my days like yesterday, but usually, my fear is combined with a plethora (ha! big word for me) of other happenings at the same time.

….and such is life.

I am the sum of all my experiences, and a lot of those experiences have proved that I’m a fighter, and I will survive. I am aware that worrying doesn’t help, and that fear is like a barrier to enjoying today. Or I should say the moment. After all, that’s all we’re guaranteed–this moment.

And, yes…I’m still looking for beauty each day. Here are some of my favorites.

Bostwick, GA

Bostwick, GA

My posse helping me organize the office.

Celebrating Cinco de Mayo—humiliation of the dog.

 

Hope you find something beautiful today.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Another Day

  1. revgerry says:

    You made me smile, thanks.

  2. suzjones says:

    I love how enthusiastic about organising your posse is 🙂

  3. Thank you April. I did find some beauty today. And a little bonus right here. 🙂

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Your posse is gorgeous!

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    I remember when I was trying to figure out what GAD was all about. I thought if I could find clear cut answers, I could get rid of it. It wasn’t until I just let General Anxiety Disorder just be what it is in me that I found ways to manage it. The things we can do to ourselves can be might peculiar.

  6. Thank you for your blog and for continuing to share the beauty you see around you. It helps me on my down days and reminds me of what’s important all the time. Hugs

    • April says:

      I’m looking forward to reading more of what you have to say…..

      I’m catching up on reading/investigating new blog reads, write more! I love your modified quote, but not that your life has been affected this way.

Comments are closed.