Do You Believe In Signs?

Let me see….I have had quite the morning, and the afternoon is going to pot quickly. I had my 55,000 mile tune up this morning, and have been referred to my Primary Torturer’s favorite EarΒ Torturist for a second opinion on my ear.

On the way home, at a big intersection, a police car was in the middle, with lights flashing and the siren a blaring. I was slowing down because I had to…the lane I was in, was a merging lane, so mostly it is a rolling stop. I became confused as to where the heck the siren was coming from because I can’t hear out of one ear and it throws me off. The car in front of me abruptly stopped. And…..yeah, we had a little fender bump. No damage to either car, he said no problem, and off I went to the grocery store, where I mindlessly dumped my 50-pound hand bag on top of the bread.

In order to change my karma, I’m going to change the direction of my post. Something saved me from a major fender smasher, and don’t tell anyone—but I replaced the bread for an unsquished loaf. :/

I have typed out quite a few of whiny-get-things-off-my-chest unpublished posts in the last couple of days, but I’m going to go with a nice post. A post to bring my thoughts to what is really important.

Not that I’m always paying attention, but I believe that all things are connected. We are all connected to each other. The earth, stars, humans—all connected. Okay, I’m not going to get into a philosophical conversation because–well, I don’t think I can write what I’m really feeling, and do it any justice. I’m hoping someone will “get” what I’m referring to.

My father-in-law’s place—the one I have been blogging about recently—sits on 7 acres in the middle of nowhere. I have always dreamed of living in a small town, but my dream also included living IN the small town in a hundred year old home, with two stories, and a white picket fence. Not a home in the outskirts, of the outskirts, of town.

Even though I believe that I can write about my feelings with much more clarity than I can while speaking, it’s hard to explain how warm and fuzzy it makes me feel to see my husband so happy. When he is at his father’s house, the one his father built 18 years ago with his own sweat and carpentry skills, my husband is a different person.

A very happy person.6K2A0978

On our first morning at my father-in-law’s house to prepare the home for sale, or to decide whether or not we want to live there, this is what I saw from the kitchen window.

Angel rays.

Later in the day, I sat in the quiet seclusion of the backyard. While rubbing my aching feet, I felt at home. Our current home has a backyard sanctuary, but I can still see the backyards of two neighbors. My father-in-law’s backyard is surrounded by nature–my favorite place to be.

On the anniversary of our 26th year of marriage, we realized that we began our married life in a home we rented from my dad. He didn’t build the house, but he remodeled it in the 1960’s while I tagged along behind him.

As an old married couple, we are hoping to live the rest of our lives, in the home built by my husband’s father.

That is, until we are placed in the old fart’s home–which after the week we spent there, my body feels like we are headed there soon. πŸ˜€

Those rays? They were a sign to me, that all will be well. I may not learn to plant a garden, and I definitely won’t be taking up canning vegetables, but I do believe I would be happy there. We met quite a few neighbors and town folk, and they are wonderful people.

It is a very beautiful home and location, but the most beautiful part, is the look in the eyes of my husband.

Hoping y’all’er looking for something beautiful today.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Do You Believe In Signs?

  1. Cathy Bohlae says:

    I think this would be a great move for the both of you if you can swing it. So if you don’t garden what do you do in nature beside pictures? And to see your husband so happy has got to be a great feeling for you also…I can tell…….

    • April says:

      I just like to be…in nature. Look at all the critters and listen to all the birds singing. I may try planting a few flowers, but otherwise, I will just be sitting. I’m still trying to figure out how to have an alpacas or sheep for spinning yarn. πŸ™‚

  2. suzjones says:

    Wow! Awesome signs my dear. I just know you are going to be so happy there. This post was filled with love and hope and I loved reading it!! πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      They were good signs! It will still take us a year or so to make it all happen. Getting one house ready to sell, and getting rid of nicotine smell out of another is going to take some time. We also have some vampires in the basement who need to find a new cave to live in. πŸ™‚

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    I’m so glad to hear you AND your husband feel at peace there. It sounds lovely and enchanting and like it will serve you both well at this point in your lives.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    I don’t know why or how, but there are places that are home and we sense it immediately.

  5. It’s a good sign. And a good place to be if you are happy just thinking about it. πŸ™‚ Good way to change direction today April. πŸ˜‰

  6. Tracy says:

    This is beautiful April!!!! It’s definitely a sign:-) I say gardens and alpacas!!!!!

    • April says:

      I have Googling how to raise alpacas or sheep on my to-do list. I’m not sure we would have enough land, but….if I could come up with a plan, the farmer my father in law purchased his land from, rents out land. BUT that would require lots of shearing and taking care of animals I have no clue what is necessary. I would have to sell lots of roving for spinning, or learn how to spin myself and sell the yarn online to pay for it all. πŸ˜€ Where would we be without dreams?

Comments are closed.