Downsizing

I’m kind of excited to catch up on all the blog reading I’ve missed in the last week. I need some time to recuperate, and determine exactly where my feelings-thoughts-emotions lie.

Whew!

We just returned from a week-long-clearing-out of my father-in-law’s house in Nowhere, Missouri. Ha! We went thinking it was summer, because it is here, but quickly found out that my one sweater smelled rather stinky after the first day. A quick trip to the local Walmart–which, by the way, ARE everywhere–for a sweatshirt.

Even though it felt cold to us, I suppose sweatshirts are out of season. We did have a couple of days tacked onto the end of our stay, which were pleasant. Hot for my brother-in-law from Seattle (a huge blessing to have there to help) but perfect weather for me and my husband.

The physical work took a toll on my body, and by the second night of sleeping on an air mattress, it took a while to figure out how to get off the floor. Now that I’m home, the lively actions to get as much accomplished, in as little time possible, I realize how emotionally exhausted I am.

I spent a week with two men, who seem to have somewhat the same temperament. Very few breaks from them as well. For an introvert, I was craving some isolation, and I didn’t get much.

I have much to blog about, but I think I’ll read more of y’alls blogs for a day or so.

While we are kicking around the idea of downsizing, and moving to the middle of Nowhere, I was presented with a little article this morning which related to my thoughts, and another soapbox rant.

Product downsizing.

After the two day “estate” sale, which was a funny story in and of itself, I thought I would celebrate with some beer. I have a favorite, but had to settle for a “normal” brand that seems to be as ubiquitous as Walmart stores.

While it was nice to hold a smaller bottle in my hand, I thought–hmmmm….this doesn’t feel like a regular beer bottle. Yup, I was right. The bottle contained 7 ounces. Down 5 ounces from the regular size. BUT the price was just the same.

Crappy huge corporations sucking us dry with their manipulation of Β “new and improved” items, which only mean they are smaller sizes at the same price. Look at your toilet paper the next time you shop. I’d bet you’re getting a lot less for your money.

I knew it had been done to ice cream, because being an ice cream connoisseur, I’ve known for a long time that they were cheating us from a full half-gallon, but charging the same price. I never thought they were doing it to my toilet paper.

And I’m mad they are doing it to my beer.

Looking forward to catching up! And…..so happy to have internet service again!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Downsizing

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Now that kind of downsizing is really annoying. Good to have you back on line.

  2. meANXIETYme says:

    We’ve been talking about the stupid toilet paper being downsized for months. It’s ridiculous how they try to hide the shrinking roll by making it fatter first, then shrinking the width…and still charging the same exorbitant price. Manufacturers must think we’re all stupid, that we don’t notice the tiny bottles or the miniature ice cream containers!
    Also, welcome home and I hope you get some introvert recovery time.

  3. mewhoami says:

    It’s nice to have you back. It’s not the same around here without you. Having gone through a very similar real estate clearing ‘event’ last year, I understand the toll it can take. Add on being an introvert to the mix, I’m sure you’re thrilled to be home. Downsizing and charging the same price is becoming such a big issue. I’ve even seen a couple items that were downsized and raised in price. Ridiculous. Anyway, hope you can get caught up with everything quickly and get back to some kind of normal.

    • April says:

      Thank you, Me. Clearing out things puts a lot into perspective. While my father-in-law doesn’t have near the hoard I have, it has inspired me to downsize the stuff I’m holding onto. Some day the burden will be placed on my kids.

  4. aviets says:

    You weren’t imagining things – it WAS COLD here last week! I wore sweaters and hoodies every day and still shivered! -Amy

    • April says:

      I searched through my father-in-laws clothes, and couldn’t find a thing that looked like he used to keep warm. He was a pretty small man, and I’m not-so-small (in stature or girth). On top of that, anything I could find I had to wash a couple of times to get the cigarette smell out. I washed two bright Home Depot orange colored sweatshirts—one fell apart. I suppose we should have checked the weather. Two pairs of shorts were not used. I’m kind of liking the area, though. It looks much nicer with all the leaves on the trees. I also LOVE the farms around the area we were in!

  5. Cathy Bohlae says:

    Glad you indeed did “go” somewhere. Wondering what happened to my good friend with the blog to smile at daily. Thought about trying to get ahold of you another way but then forgot about it. Would love to hear other stories from your trip…sales and so on. Missed you my dear April. You are so thought-provoking and I love reading. Think about responses often just never type them, usually just think smile and move on….as you would expect of me! Downsizing is everywhere…beer, booze, tp, cereal…..and so on…..and I do think the corporations want us to be stupid and not notice but we do notice and just go on…….hugs to you as always April!

    • April says:

      If we would have had internet service, I don’t think I would have had time to get on the computer. We were beat. Now I have to catch up and recharge.

  6. Welcome back April πŸ˜€
    I think that mostly all are become undersized and then charged usual same price all over the world.

  7. suzjones says:

    I’m pleased all is okay in your world right now. I was worried about your absence. πŸ™‚
    And yes, downsizing is really annoying. Over here I have noticed it in blocks of chocolate and packets of chips.

  8. Downsizing while profitsizing!

    Welcome home! πŸ™‚

  9. Glynis Jolly says:

    I’m not a fan of beer despite the fact that I come from the state the uses the clear cold water of the Rocky Mountains, yep, Colorado. They can do whatever they want to beer and it won’t effect me at all. As for other goodies where the size has changed, I’m not real sure if it’s the size of the goody or the size of the price that has changed so much. I’m a chocolate-holic. I love those chocolate candy bars. The size of a bar is enough for me but the price kind of throws me into a tizzy.

Comments are closed.