So, What Make YOU Normal?

Cool thing I heard last night….

For weeks, I have been hearing an owl hooting. Just the one. Last night, in the distance, I heard an answer, and then some other type of owl language. See—sometimes, insomnia can be beautiful.

This morning, I heard the most pleasant sounding radio announcer, with the sweetest southern accent, make the the following comment – Normal people, doing stupid things. The story was about a primary school career day. A mom, who worked for a plastic surgeon brought in breast implants as a show-and-tell for the 2nd and 3rd graders.

Normal?

The definition of normal—conforming to a standard; usual, typical, or expected.

Was that mother really normal, doing a stupid thing? Or simply a stupid person? Bringing breast implants to show grade school children, isn’t usual, typical, or expected. So—what made the announcer think the woman was normal?

I have scars on my skin. Most of them are covered by clothes or socks, but they weren’t created through normal circumstances. I also have scars within, the scars I try to hide, but when I do, I become self-destructive. Does that make me abnormal?

I believe I act normal, but, because I have a mental illness does that make me a candidate for the reject pile?

What about the person losing their hair in a big patch on the top of their head? Or a person who dyes the natural color of their hair to another? What about an amputee? An overzealous athlete?

Normal?

I quickly researched a few definitions, we use on a regular basis, to describe people who suffer from any form of mental illness. Crazy, Nuts, Insane, were three I looked up. The most kind definition was insane—a state of mind that prevents normal perception, behavior, or social interaction.

Normal.

I’m not offended by too much, and I’m definitely not offended if someone calls me crazy. Nuts doesn’t even bother me, but of the three words I researched, crazy was the only word which had a second description not related to mental illness. The second definition was extremely enthusiastic. Therefore, Crazy Cat Lady is a label I embrace. I’m pretty sure if someone called me insane, I would go nuts! (sorry, a little bad humor) 😐

Those labels are what we have used to stigmatize mental illness. It creates a lot of silent sufferers. A bunch of people who believe they are unworthy because they aren’t normal.

I’m normal, are you?

 

 

 

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to So, What Make YOU Normal?

  1. bmagpub says:

    I’m definitely normal – for me! Just as you’re normal – for you.:-). I’m no better, no worse, just different . Maybe that’s normal :-). Wishing you a good day. B

  2. suzjones says:

    I’ve got a notebook somewhere (bwhahahaha) that says on the cover “I tried being normal once. Worst two minutes of my life”. You know I bought it because of what it said right? 😀

  3. reocochran says:

    I like you, but I am not sure if that is ‘normal’ or just because you seem very nice, April! You are handling things pretty well, considering all you have been through! I just don’t know why there needs to be a group called, “normal.” We are all variations of people and on some days, in some occasions and often we are “not normal!” I like to laugh and say, I hope I am NOT normal! I could see the implants as fun to play with, but as long as she didn’t say where they went… unless they were in high school, then no holds barred on topics. The more information given, the better! Smiles, Robin

  4. I have learned that ‘normal’ is a misconception, or impossibility, or rude idea, when trying to apply to people. Who, exactly, gets to claim what normal is leaving everyone else ‘not normal’? I’m happy not worrying about it any more!!!! 😀

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    No, I’m proud to say I’m not normal. For me, ‘normal’ means boring. There are things I’d like to change about myself that aren’t normal, but I don’t want them to end up being normal, just different that what these things are now.

  6. mewhoami says:

    I don’t know if there is a normal. What would make someone normal? Everyone is different, therefore everyone is a different example of normal. If there is a set list of qualities needed to be normal, then I don’t know if I want to be.

    • April says:

      Exactly! I don’t want to be normal either. Not that I would like to stand out, but I like being unique. 🙂

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Is wandering around in pajamas all day normal? It is for me. 😉

Comments are closed.