Another Stinkin’ Cell Phone Rant

I forgot a πŸ˜€ yesterday.

We have a driveway that is just long enough for a car to park at the end of, and we are able to maneuver a car from inside the garage, around the car at the end of the driveway, and be on our way. The admirable talent I demonstrated yesterday–I maneuvered out of the garage without knocking my mirrors off, made it around my son’s car without scraping it (my car), and I didn’t knock over the garbage, or recycling bins.

Apparently, I have some debatable skills when I navigate, but I persevered yesterday.

This morning, as I was running an errand, which required leaving the couch, and pre-coffee–I marveled at the tree lined street I travel to get to the main road. I love when the leaves cover all the dead-ness of winter. The sky was really blue, and the temperatures are supposed to be warm again today.

And there she was….little Ms. Must-Text-No-Matter-What, trying to control her ginormous SUV, while riding my butt. It was a nice cell phone with all it’s blinginess, I could see it flashing as she almost rear ended me because traffic was stop and go–and she was busy texting.

I wanted to stop in the middle of the road, get out my car to record her plate number and proceed to lecture her about driving and texting–our state did pass one of those “duh” laws, making texting and driving illegal.

She had a kid in the FRONT seat. Not an adult-sized kid, but a kid kid.

Since I couldn’t stop in the middle of the road during morning rush hour, plate numbers are only on the backs of vehicles, and my lecture would have certainly fallen on deaf ears. The only thing that I had control of, was to say a little prayer that the child makes it to adulthood in spite of his mother’s stoopitiousness. (intentional made up word)

Guess what? I think some of you have heard this before—I lived for over 40 years without a cell phone! 😯 Yes! It’s true!

Pre-kid insanity, it used to baffle me why women didn’t make enough time in the morning to apply make up. They used their car’s mirror for the task. To me, that’s crazy, and I apologize for my judgement of any person reading this, and it’s part of your morning routine, but I don’t want to be riding behind you–I don’t want you riding behind me–and I don’t want to be in the lane next to you. Sorry :/

When I taxied my kids around when they were little, not a one of them sat in the front seat. Front seat riding wasn’t allowed until they were much older–you know, almost adult size.

I didn’t like the radio mixed with the guaranteed amount of noise 3 kids could make, because it distracted me from keeping my attention on all that was happening around me.

I’m not sure how phone/texting skills are manageable while driving. Certainly, the cell phone has evolved into a much more desirable size. Have kids evolved as well, making less nose these days?

I didn’t need the cell to live. And I’m here today to spread the word!

I’m not as adept at multitasking these days. I have trouble carrying on a conversation if I’m driving. Texting while driving would be an impossibility for me–even if I was ignorant to the fact that it is quite stupid.

I love the ability to text back and forth with my kids. I love Facetime too. I love that I can be a Ms. Lazy Pants and text my son–who lives like a vampire in the basement–that it’s time for dinner. (I know, that’s bad, isn’t it? I also know I could yell, but he never seems to hear me)

I pray my kids never text and drive, and hope that all my lectures were heard. I also hope they know that a phone call can wait until they reach their destination. I taught the lessons I had to teach, now I can only pray they have common sense.

And I hope they are never rear ended by an idiot who has an overblown ego, believing they can text and drive at the same time.

 

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Another Stinkin’ Cell Phone Rant

  1. aviets says:

    Amen. We were considered freaks because we made our underweight son use a booster car seat through 1st grade…but that was the official guideline, and we weren’t willing to take a risk. Also, the safety rule for sitting in the front seat (at least in Kansas) is that they should be 13 years old – it has nothing to do with how tall they are, but rather the development of their internal organs and the likelihood of said organs remaining intact in a crash. Again, we took a lot of flack for following that rule – NOT from our kids, but from “cool” parents. 😦
    -Amy

    • April says:

      oh, those stinkin’, judgmental, perfect parents. I lied, and told my kids they had to be older than 13. πŸ™‚ It worked until they caught on. They are much more adept at exposing my lies that I was prepared for. πŸ™‚

  2. meANXIETYme says:

    Hate those people who don’t bother to think that not only are they endangering themselves, but their passengers AND EVERYONE AROUND THEM. Stoopid for sure.

  3. You are so right about the stupidity of driving and use a mobile in same time. No matter it is for texting or talking.
    Few years ago I heard a crash in a small town, where I lived. Run out together with other people who did hear the same. A young woman at only 22 years old did drive and did hit a truck. She died few hours later. She did sms and we found her mobile in a garden 25 meters away from her accident.
    Very sad :-/

    • April says:

      I have heard many sad stories like this. I think a device should be made to prohibit the phone from working if it is moving, which I guess it would be hard to tell if one was walking or driving a car. The only other solution is to go back to the tried and true way of the phone connected to the wall. πŸ™‚

  4. mewhoami says:

    Excellent rant and I couldn’t agree more! Why people carelessly text and drive as if nothing may happen, is mind boggling to me. It’s hard to look around while driving and *not* see people texting. Almost every car has a texting driver in it, or like the lady the other day, reading a magazine! Every now and then (often) there are people (full grown adults) I ride with who do this, and when I offer to help, my offer is refused. All I can think in the meantime is, thanks for putting us all at risk for a text that could easily wait 5 minutes, but you know what? You’re going to have to answer for our deaths. Well, there was my rant. πŸ™‚ Good job on making it past all the driveway obstacles!

    • April says:

      πŸ™‚ Now, in the state of Colorado, out-of-towners will be visiting to purchase the newly legalized pot. They won’t be able to smoke it in hotel rooms, so I’m guessing there will be quite a few driving around town among a cloud of smoke—or I suppose there are the edibles. πŸ™‚ Either way, maybe they shouldn’t be on the road either.

      • mewhoami says:

        You should see them! They are smoking up everywhere. People just don’t care anymore. Speaking of out-of-towners, we had thousands of people here for 420. We have pot shops on just about every other block now, even in some residential areas. It’s out of control.

        • April says:

          I thought the law was legal to have a small amount, but not be able to smoke in public. Just like the text and drive people, the laws don’t apply to them?

          • mewhoami says:

            Exactly! What rules? Plus, no one cares. Unless someone specifically complains about it, the cops won’t do much of anything.

  5. suzjones says:

    It has only been in the last 18 months that I have allowed the Tween to have the front seat. She was in a booster until she about 7 or 8. I don’t understand the stupidity of drivers. So many have died because they were texting whilst driving.
    In my state the law says that you can be fined if you are caught with a phone in your hand whilst driving. I have a friend who was fined because her phone rang, she picked it up to look who it was and then pulled off the road to take the call. The fact she had the phone in her hand whilst driving was grounds for being fined. But so many people ignore this.
    Only last night on a current affairs program there was a man filmed by a news crew. He was driving a semi and talking on the phone. When he saw the crew filming him, he took his hands off the wheel to make rude gestures at them. He was also not wearing a seat belt.
    I follow the rules but it is always the rule followers who end up injured or dead by those who don’t.
    p.s. In Australia, number plates are both front and back.

    • April says:

      I wonder why some people over fear (like me) and then there are those who feel invincible. What makes them that way. Also, I think in some states both a front and back are required, I’m not too sure.

      • suzjones says:

        I guess there is not really any answer to that question.

        • April says:

          I had to read my reply that you were replying to—there are instances I wonder where I come up with the words I use to relay what I’m thinking. There is no answer, you’re right.

  6. PREACH IT APRIL! I just five minutes ago sat on my front porch and watched a woman driving her fancy BMW up my street, which is partly a BIKE trail that children and adults of all ages use. While she is driving she is holding her phone up in front of her, above the steering wheel, reading it, and took the time to lower her glasses to read better. Which means she made the effort to hold the phone in one hand, lower glasses with the other. Lovely.

    • April says:

      My husband saw a woman with an e-reader reading above her steering wheel….and we are all on the roads with them, some of us with our precious children in the car. 😦

      • I know. I don’t understand the complete disregard people have for their personal responsibility and the well being of others. Any one being given the privilege of driving should be smart enough to not do these things.

  7. Gallivanta says:

    stoopitiousness…..the perfect word for this situation.

Comments are closed.