Betty Boop and the Psychologist

Yesterday, I visited my pill pusher (psychologist). I was afraid he was going to change my cocktail, and I was in a bit of a panic. Luckily, nothing changed and I can continue on my road to recovery.

A sense of humor has also become a necessity for me to navigate through my life.

I spend time each day, observing everything around me in order to find something beautiful, or something to laugh about. Photography has also taught me to observe small details I used to ignore.

Some of the funny, pleasant, and shocking things that happened yesterday were worthy of sitting at my computer while I’m supposed to be doing something else. I suppose the reader will decide if it is worth their time to read my post instead of doing what they are supposed to be doing. ๐Ÿ˜€

On the route to the pill pusher, there is a cute little business in the style of a little cottage. I always admire the cottage because it’s like my dream house with the white picket fence and all. However, I finally discovered the business is a Bail Bonds office. On the front porch is a larger-than-life-sized Betty Boop, complete with a prison stripe uniform. And I thought Betty was smarter than that. ๐Ÿ˜‰ It also kind of shattered my dream of the cottage with the picket fence, but I laughed out loud.

At another intersection–if I can paint a good enough picture–the road had four lanes. The far left lane was for left-turns only, the far right was for right-turns only. The middle two lanes were for straight ahead movement. I was first in line, in one of the straight ahead lanes, waiting for the light to change. An older gentleman from the far left-hand-only-turn-lane, crossed in front of me and the car in the next lane, in order to get into the right-hand-only-lane. I suppose he may have had his right and left mixed up?

Oh, my. I am so glad the person driving up the right-hand-only-lane was paying attention, because I may have been caught up in a t-bone accident situation. But I laughed at the craziness of this driver because even I would never be that crazy.

I’m always pleased when visiting my pill pusher’s place of business. The painted lines for parking stalls are wide enough for a regular sized car–even large enough for the people driving the huge SUVs. I’m able to maneuver my car in order to park within the lines, and still have room to get out of the car. Bonus point of pleasure for the day.

Now–here’s the cherry on top of my day’s story. While waiting to see the doctor, I had a conversation with the receptionist. We were discussing my bill and the lateness of my insurance company for doing what they are supposed to be doing.

Our conversation wandered off to the ridiculous costs of various medical tests done via machines–like the mammogram. She received a bill for $8000.00 US dollars for her mammogram. We commiserated over the crap we have to put up with.

I shared my story of the charge from my radiologist, aka CANCER CENTER– because they have to remind us with huge letters over the parking lot, unless we forget where we are. The imaging center always tries to entice me with a flat payment, so that the bill for the CT scan wouldn’t have to be submitted through our insurance company. Ha! What they want me to pay is hundreds of dollars over the cost our insurance company covers—they receiveย more money that way, since insurance companies decide what a reasonable price would be for various medical treatments.

Anyway, after the receptionist’s inquisitive look, and question why I would have a CT scan instead of a mammogram, I explained that I had cancer.

Here it is……

I was in a Psychologist’s office….

…..she asked if I had had a brain tumor.

omgarsh! Even though I had to control laughing my silly head off because I didn’t want to embarrass her, I responded that it was lung cancer.

Next question from her—do you smoke?

Not so funny, but I’m getting used to it, if I share that part of my life with someone.

I’m not going to cover all the statics in this post, but I do have a few. One of the many articles I have read, 6.9%ย of smokers will develop lung cancer. Not 100%, not 69%.

There is also a good percentage of non-smokers who develop lung cancer–and it isn’t 1% of the lung cancers diagnosed. I have read various articles which put the number around 30% of the lung cancers diagnosed, the people have NEVER smoked. To me, 30% is a large number, and one to consider when asking if a lung cancer patient smoked or not.

But—it was my cancer diagnosis that prodded me, once and for all, to take control of my mental health.

Oh, wait!

I have to share a better experience which did, in fact, entice me to do a happy dance–I must have burst my eardrum while blowing my nose. While my ear is still blocked, the pain went away. Yahoo!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in That Thing Called Cancer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Betty Boop and the Psychologist

  1. reocochran says:

    Oh my goodness, April! First of all, I am going to comment in my mind, in a random way! I am so glad you didn’t get hit by that older gentleman crossing in front of all the lanes! I am wondering if you could have caught his license plate number? But, I am never able to in time, either!
    As far as lung cancer, (and the receptionist’s inept question) it does take a big sense of humor to get through this whole adventure we call Life! As far as your having to deal with cancer, I hate that you have had it, hate that you have to worry about it, too! (Guess what I just wrote a post a few days ago, on how it is not okay to use the word, ‘hate!’) Better not tell on me! Ha ha! Hugs to you, my friend and wishing you peace of mind and glad the psychiatrist is letting you continue a good mix of meds, too! I believe that all will continue to be well with you, April! Robin

    • April says:

      Thank you Robin. I’m finally finding a way to make the journey through life much more pleasant. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. bmagpub says:

    Yay for no pain! May be the gentleman was from New Zealand and got confused with which side he was supposed to be on? Thanks for the chuckle and the smile. Wishing you a wonderful Sunday (wehn it arrives). ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. suzjones says:

    Yay for your ear and the little things that make us smile. Okay, I can’t believe that they charge you $8000 for a mammogram. I have had several in my time (and now I am aging more to come) but they are all covered by the government. I rarely have to pay anything and if I do it’s only the in the vicinity of a couple of hundred (depends on where I go). I must admit that as much as our government stuffs things up, our medicare system has its benefits.

    • April says:

      I’m not sure what she was talking about. My mammograms are covered by insurance. She had family history so maybe they performed more testing? Or someone entering the billing into the system, made a huge typo.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Is that for real? $8000 for a mammogram?

    • April says:

      That’s what she said, but maybe it was more than just a mammogram, or a mistake.

      • Gallivanta says:

        Interesting. I am in the age bracket where I get a free mammogram every 2 years (from the Government health service) which is very nice but ‘free’ is really an incorrect term. It costs me nothing up front but the ‘free’ part is paid for by our taxes.

        • April says:

          I have the pleasure of having one a year, paid for through our health insurance. We pay insurance premiums…..but our healthcare system is one HUGE mess. Our insurance covers health maintenance, like annual health checks which include all the female or male tests. They call it preventative care.

  5. Oh the horrors of a plugged ear!!!!!!!!! YAY for that!
    Those numbers regarding lung cancer are scary. I had no idea. NON smokers get more lung cancer than smokers?????

    • I MEAN YAY THAT YOUR EAR IS NOT HURTING!

    • April says:

      It’s very hard to write about statistics because if a little piece of information is left out it gets confusing. I think I did this. I’m inserting a link if you are interested, it doesn’t have the percentages and complete statistical numbers, but it does cover the fact that lung cancer is not strictly a cancer that strikes smokers. Not 100% of smokers, or former smokers will develop cancer. The number of cancer diagnosed in non-smokers is in one of those top categories for causes of death from cancer.

      My point was that just as mental illness, lung cancer has a Major stigma attached to it, and it’s sad. I smoked for about 13 years, less than a pack a day, some days maybe a pack. I quit over 25 years ago. Mostly, talking about cancer isn’t in my every day conversation, so I don’t usually feel like I have to answer what type of cancer I had—followed by the question, do/did you smoke? But when it is, I feel a bit ashamed, and I don’t want to feel that way anymore. I don’t want to hide any part of what makes me, me. My struggle with cancer is one facet of why I do what I do.

      If I’m not rambling too much….not all smokers will develop lung cancer. The number is much lower than the average person is aware of. The average person is also not aware of how much their chances of developing lung cancer are, due to other factors–people who have never smoked.

      http://www.lung.org/lung-disease/lung-cancer/resources/facts-figures/lung-cancer-fact-sheet.html

      • April says:

        Ok…now that I’ve thought about it more, this is what I wanted to say. Of the millions of smokers, approximately, 6.9% will develop lung cancer. Of the total lung cancer diagnoses each year, 80-90% of those diagnosed, will be related to smoking. 10-20% will be due to other carcinogens, either through chemicals, second hand smoke…my 30% number was incorrect in my statement.

      • You aren’t rambling too much at all. It never occurred to me that someone might feel ‘shame’ at having lung cancer and be asked if they were a smoker. I’m sorry you ever felt that.

        Your information link was helpful. And surprising. Until reading your information I would never have guessed lung cancer to be “the” largest cancer killer WORLD wide.

        • April says:

          Yup, each year it takes more lives than breast, colon, and prostate cancers COMBINED. Research is also severely underfunded. I think they have been trying to make smoking so ugly (which it is), that people have simply written off lung cancer as the disease of smokers. While less people are smoking, and there has been a decrease in new cancer diagnoses for smokers or former smokers, the number of lung cancer diagnoses is on the rise for non-smokers.

          • And this should be a focus and educational point ! It’s scary whether you are a smoker or not. Thank you for the education April.

            • April says:

              My mission is to join a group advocating for early detection screening for those most at risk. People who have breathed in second hand smoke, those subjected to chemicals known to cause cancer, former smokers, and current smokers. Although I know it’s impossible, I would like to see nobody smoke, and I am afraid I’ve nagged enough of my smoker friends that they go sneak their cigarettes when I’m around. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.