The Squirrel Bandit

A complaint I often hear regarding anti-depressants, they seem to rob us of our personality. Since I would make a great candidate for Top Queen of Denial in some aspects of my life, I don’t pay attention to the side effects, except the ones which will cause serious health issues. Like the fact that one I’m currently ingesting has an adverse reaction if grapefruit is added to the mix.

In other words, I try to live my life. The alternative was hell, and I’m not going back there. So, I work around the side effects. It can be done, either that, or I’m a freak. I’m taking Prozac, Wellbutrin, Lamictal, and Xanax (when needed). All have their own set of side effects which I have chosen to ignore–except the serious ones tied to Lamictal–a mood stabilizer.

Who knew I had a functioning brain contained in the space between my ears.

This morning I overslept. A serious oversleep for me. So my day is screwed. Of course, I must dilly dally on the computer before actually following my to-do list, but sometimes we have to do what we have to, in order to make it through the day.

I have read a couple of heartwarming stories this morning. Tears filled my eyes, and fell down my cheeks. Oh, how wonderful these tears aren’t from sadness of unknown origins. They are tears of empathy and happiness for the beautiful people I’m privileged to know.

Anyway, to lighten my day so that I don’t fall into the pit of depression because I misinterpret my tears – yes, I can screw it up to that extent – I’m sharing a story which has left me chuckling for days.6K2A0604

The last couple of days, this is what I’m seeing out the window while washing dishes.

This little thief isn’t very afraid of us. In fact, he is quite defiant. He has chewed off part of the feeder, which makes it rust, and he scares off the birds.

I know he needs to eat as well, but he is a glutton. He can wipe out a feeder in a matter of a day. Either that, or he has a co-conspirator.6K2A0644

 

 

 

 

 

 

These dudes, and dudette, are on squirrel watch, but they sorely fail at their duties.

6K2A0608


6K2A0720

 

 

 

 

 

 

6K2A0606

 

 

6K2A0717

 

This is what I’m enjoying when the squirrel is chased off. Also, I have finally found a use for the quiche pan I never use. It actually makes a great bird bath.

 

6K2A0701

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some bitching while waiting for a turn.

6K2A0688

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6K2A0650

The bonus to these photos, I’m learning more and more about depth of field as well as where I should set my camera’s focal point. I also have a little nag telling me I need to seriously learn a thing or two about Lightroom and Photoshop.

…..and to quit shooting through the window, or at least clean them.

I hope you find some stories to touch your heart today, and find something to chuckle about. Even if it is one microscopic bit of light.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Squirrel Bandit

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    Great pictures! I, too, shoot photos through dirty windows (and window screens!), so don’t think you’re alone in that one. 😉

  2. I love the photo of the squirrel hanging upside down! He’s one determined character!

  3. revgerry says:

    What an uplifting and beautiful post! thank you. I have a FEATURED CREATURE each day on my personal facebook page, as part of my morning practice. so much beauty to enjoy!

    • April says:

      Thank you. I actually have more good days than bad, but the bad stuff has to be released. Blogging has certainly helped me.

  4. suzjones says:

    Great practice shots. And I love your story. It’s the little things around us that make life special isn’t it?

  5. Thank you for the wonderful hope for our days! 🙂 And I love that you are learning about the camera/photography. Another thing I absolutely love…will have to one day get deeper in to. 😉

  6. bmagpub says:

    Love the photos – for so many reasons. Typical cats and dog – we have some just like that (except for the one that drops dead rats off to us – at least they’re dead :-)). I hope you get more chuckles today, too. :-D.

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Oh what lovely sights you have outside your window. As for dirty windows, you haven’t seen mine yet!

    • April says:

      It’s a rotten chore.

      • Gallivanta says:

        We have had 3 times our average rainfall in both March and April. So the windows aren’t only dirty but they are growing mould. It’s gross.

        • April says:

          I understand that one. I just wiped some mold from a window in on of my kids’ room. The one that moved out last year. I suppose I should have checked his room sooner. 🙂 Nah, I’m a great procrastinator. The mold is gone though.

          • Gallivanta says:

            I am desperately trying to ignore the room my son moved out of a month ago. We cleaned it out at the time but I expect there is mould regrowth now. Arrrgh. Don’t want to look.

  8. Glynis Jolly says:

    {chuckling} We finally got a bird feeder that doesn’t let the squirrels get any of the food. Drives them bunkers, that’s for sure. They try to get to the feed through those little holes for the birds but because they don’t have beaks, no luck. Sometimes we can hear them cussing out the feeder.

    • April says:

      😀 We were looking at the kind of feeder which swings the squirrel off when it tries to get on the feeder. It would be mostly for pure entertainment. Right now, as long as we keep them far enough from a tree for them to jump off of, we use a “collar” type thing that hangs on the pole. It prevents them from being able to climb to the feeder.

  9. mewhoami says:

    That is funny. They are bandits! We have a few of our own here, but we don’t help matters since we feed them on a regular basis. Those were some terrific pictures even if they were taken through the window. Sleeping in is no good for me either. My whole day is wasted if I sleep in later than normal.

  10. reocochran says:

    This was chock full of joy and funny stuff, April! I am so glad that you can see humor in the animals, that little ‘Piglet’ of a squirrel (and or his buddies) along with the birds and lazy cats, too! I am sorry about the ear infection and maybe the sleep was more important than the chores or whatever you felt needed to get done! You gave us such positives in this post, much bigger than microscopic, my dear!!

Comments are closed.