The Rebel Warrior – a Repost

I published this post two years ago. Chatter Master suggested I have a cape for my Rebel Warrior alter ego. I do–in my imagination.Β πŸ˜€ By the way, you should check out Chatter Master’s blog, if you haven’t already. She has a lot of inspirational words.
http://geektyrant.com/news/2010/11/18/photographer-turns-his-91-year-old-grandma-into-a-superhero.html

Yikes! I’m human…..after all. Even though I like to believe I am like the woman pictured above, I am actually more like the picture to the right. A bit clueless, extremely motivated by food, but very loyal to those I love. The hard part is forgiving myself for notΒ being able to bring forward my superhero-alter-ego when I need it the most.

Words. There are many beautiful ones, aren’t there? Some words carry the power to inspire, or to tear down. I have never been one to think before I speak, but I have learned to control someΒ of my impulsiveness. After all these years, I know what comes out of my mouth, or through my fingers as typewritten words…..is my genuine self….whether it is April, Rebel Warrior, or Ms. Pansy Pants.Β It’s a constant struggle to be in control of how I react to situations……….or words, especially the hurtful words.

We have been a bit addicted to the Discovery channel’s Gold Rush and Bering Sea Gold shows. (Don’t ask me why) Anyway, there is a character on one of them who is a real _________ (you can fill in the blank—he is a real poop head—in my PG-rated opinion). The poop head has hired a man to help him dive for gold in the Bering Sea, and he is extremely rude to this man. However, the target of such mean spirited words, takes it all in stride. He lets it roll off…….he is having a good time, in spite of what the poop head says. Of course, I know it’s TV and they have to entertain us, but I think we all know a happy person like this. What’s their secret?

Words are powerful, and should be beautiful.

My words for you, today……pay attention to how you speak (especially those closest to you).

Have a wonderful day, find the beauty around you, and if someone wants to block your sunshine……give them the benefit of the doubt. Maybe they just don’t know any better.

Or, in my R-rated version (for the violence) opinion……kick them to the curb. You don’t need that type of negativity in your life.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in That Thing Called Cancer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Rebel Warrior – a Repost

  1. aviets says:

    Thanks for that reminder to watch my words…I kind of need that reminder more often than I would like, and especially today. -Amy

  2. meANXIETYme says:

    “Word are powerful, and should be beautiful.”
    Amen. And remember to pay attention to how you speak to yourself as well. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for re-posting, as I hadn’t seen this one before, and the message is a great one.

  3. reocochran says:

    I liked the way you reminded us, April, about paying attention to how we speak! This and other parts of your post today really resonated with me! I hope that people won’t block my sunshine, but I usually ‘walk around them,’ if they do! Smiles, Robin

    • April says:

      When I originally posted this, I’m pretty sure I was dealing with some pretty insensitive people. I kind of wonder how some blurt out the most rude statements, and never give it a thought that they may be hurting someone around them.

      • reocochran says:

        I do wonder about people too. I hope that they are soon feeling better, less ‘mean’ and try to ignore them, as best you can! You are much prettier than the super heroes you posted, more like Wonder Woman!! Smiles to you, April! Robin

  4. suzjones says:

    Put on that cape and take over the world girl!!!
    The GG is also addicted to those shows and I watch them on occasion. I have a favourite – I think his name is Tyler? The young guy that first started out helping his grandfather many seasons ago. lol
    The Bering Sea Gold one just cracks me up. I like the woman skipper.

    • April says:

      Parker is the name of the teen. He sure has some guts. I laugh at the Bering Sea Gold show, I call it a “man’s soap opera” due to all the manly drama and fit throwing. πŸ™‚

  5. mewhoami says:

    “Pay attention to how you speak.” That reminds me of one of the biggest lies ever quoted, “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.” Tcha! Words hurt!

    • April says:

      They do. I try to give people the benefit of the doubt and believe they are possibly wording something without intentional insult, but then there the out-and-out mean spirited people. I think they have some desire to make themselves feel better by making others miserable.

      • mewhoami says:

        I think you’re right. They push others down in an effort to lift themselves up. I’ve known people like that and have had to walk away from them.

  6. PREACH IT APRIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And I don’t know what pictures you use….but when I look I DO see a cape. πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.