Wash on Monday

Of all the domestic chores I procrastinate over, laundry isn’t one of them. How odd.

There is something refreshing about pulling clean clothes from the dryer, hanging, and folding them.

Dirt is washed away.

Finders Keepers

My tip jar

A clean start for another day of wear.

Each morning is like laundry day. Hopefully, we sleep enough to feel refreshed for another day, trying to avoid being hung up in the “sud” cycle of hesitation by over-thinking, and usingΒ too much detergent.

If not, the day can go in the hamper, and maybe come out freshly pressed tomorrow.

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Wash on Monday

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Oh, how I need your happy attitude to laundry. I try to do it with grace but ……

  2. Valerie says:

    I love this! πŸ™‚ I have no issue with laundry either – just like vacuuming, it cleans things up so instantly that I can’t help but love it! Plus, I adore the way you compared our days with dirty clothes. πŸ˜‰ AND that little bank is precious…I need one!

    • April says:

      I was getting rich, until my son and husband found out I was squirreling away their spare change. I refer to the money as my tip for doing their laundry. πŸ˜€

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    Love this post! πŸ™‚

  4. aviets says:

    Oh, my – what wonderful advice! I seriously wanted to put this day (AND yesterday) into the hamper for the first hour of the day. Thank goodness things got better. But I’m going to remember your words in case the same thing happens tomorrow. And oh, how I wished I had your attitude toward laundry. -Amy

    • April says:

      I hope your day is better!

      • aviets says:

        Thanks, it did get better. My main problem is that I’ve been getting the world’s worst sleep for days and so I wake up groggy, miserable, and cranky. Last night I resorted to a Benedryl before bed. Still woke up several times but at least I went right back to sleep. Big improvement.

  5. suzjones says:

    Since the GG hasn’t worked, he has taken over the washing. Your post reminded me just how much I used to enjoy it. It gives a certain sense of satisfaction. Now ironing is a whole other story!! πŸ˜‰

  6. I wish I enjoyed laundry. I do agree that each day is new and fresh start! Great post πŸ™‚

  7. mewhoami says:

    What a perfect post after the weekend I just had. I was in the sud cycle for 2 days! It sure is nice to have a clean fresh start. It smells nicer too. πŸ™‚

  8. I love this April. When I was a stay at home mom I loved the process of cleaning….for the very lovely fresh feeling of it. I don’t have as much time to clean anymore….or for that matter the need since the kids are “grown up”. πŸ™‚

  9. reocochran says:

    This was a cheerful post, April! I love to do laundry, even though I have to use my quarters up! It seems my mind goes backwards sometimes, to the days I took my 3 little children to the laundry, with the littlest one, resting on the dirty laundry basket with a clean towel spread over it! Those were hectic and somewhat frantic days for me! I was a single mom (by choice, I divorced an alcoholic and a philanderer) with a 6 month old baby girl, 1 1/2 year old son and 3 year old daughter. I have read that this was probably the best time to do this, before they got used to having a Dad in their home… I have felt grateful that all 3 stayed around the town I chose to raise them in. Two of them visited their Dad and the 3rd is just getting to know the ex-husband that was my second one. She is all of 28 and I chose not to take child support for no visitation… Actually, she is the most stable and supportive one, although all 3 are very special and my grandchildren are all here, too. None, chose to live close to their Daddy’s. Just if anyone feels their life is filled with challenges, thought I would add my past to their thoughts today!. Definitely glad I have my health! Just wishing you had total remission, April! And that it was confirmed you were ‘cancer free.’ It will happen, the next time you go for your check up, I believe, April! Hugs, Robin

    • April says:

      I admire your courage! I have often wondered how single mothers with great children survive all the challenges. Sounds like you have done a wonderful job. I think I would have fallen apart. I give many thanks to my husband for his patience and love. If it weren’t for him, I may have taken a path that would have been far worse than anything I can imagine at this point. Thank you for sharing your story.

  10. Pingback: To wash or not — Rain on the windshieldRain on the windshield

Comments are closed.