The Bluebird of Happiness

The rewards of cognitive behavior therapy are beyond what I had expected. Along with medication to reduce the loud negative thoughts I allowed to play over and over in my mind, I now recognize many things I intentionally do to myself, believing they were unintentional.

Yesterday, I discovered more harbored nonsense.

I love all the outdoor critters I see while washing dishes. I grab my camera and shoot through my dirty windows, hoping to actually have something worthy of hanging on our walls—I seriously need to clean our windows.6K2A0595c

Today, I’m sharing a photo of this little bird. One of my favorite birds, along with the cardinal.

Every time I see one, a little ditty runs through my mind. It actually originated from a song by Little Jimmy Dickens, written by Neal Merritt in 1965 (yes, Google information). The title, May the Bird of Paradise Fly Up Your Nose.

While the title of this song is a gem itself, and the lyrics just as lovely, being kids, we twisted everything to make it even more funny to our developing little minds. Sometimes our twisted lyrics were used as childish curses.

We took that hit Country song about the bird, and created this – May the Bluebird of Happiness Poop on Your Head. Real mean stuff. It was the curse of all curses.

I recall a time when I thought the worst insult after bickering with my friends down the street, was a threat to throw a rock at their fence. Oh, what satisfaction I achieved at the sound the rock made as it hit their white picket fence. Then it came, the curse…shouted after me as I ran to the safety of home.

That bluebird of happiness may have pooped on my head one too many times.

But, I don’t have to believe that any more—if I so choose.

The bluebird is beautiful to me, and it brings me happiness. I never fail to smile a little when I see one.

That curse, which helped form a lifetime of feeling worthless, no longer has power over me. It’s odd how childhood nonsense becomes intertwined with actual traumatic events, creating a struggling adult.

The little bluebird stayed outside our kitchen window for quite a while—long enough for me to track down my camera, realize I still had the lens cap still on, fiddle with the settings, and snap a shot.

Finally, it flew away, taking that dreadful childhood curse with it.

And I smiled.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Bluebird of Happiness

  1. aviets says:

    Beautiful photo. And I’m so envious…I’ve NEVER seen a bluebird in Kansas. Supposedly if you build just the right house and have just the right yard and put out just the right food you might be aBle to get some. No such luck here, I’m afraid.

    • April says:

      Thank you. I Googled Bluebirds, because we hadn’t seen one since we moved here, but on the other hand, we never paid much attention. I read they are rare in Western Washington, so maybe that’s why. I have a neighbor with all the proper nests and food. They visit my barren yard for unknown reasons. 🙂

  2. What a beautiful moment April! A great shot of something that can remind you of this moment for ever. We can choose, can’t we? I remember the moment I “learned” that I had choice. It was amazing. I remember it to this day, vividly. 🙂

  3. Tracy says:

    This is so beautiful April!! It’s amazing what we can see through dirty windows!!:-)

  4. meANXIETYme says:

    Beautiful picture. And I love that you were able to enjoy that moment.

  5. suzjones says:

    Such a beautiful photo April 🙂

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Actually I like the childish phrase dreamed up. For me it’s the perfect thing to say to that inconsiderate driver on the road.

  7. revgerry says:

    I LOVE this post and all of its symbolisms and whimsey. I too love to bask in the beauty of nature, and I love it when one of our doves lays her eggs in a Heavenly Bamboo pot on the patio. I have barricaded it off from the local cats but so she can still get in and out. I feel blessed because the dove represents love and peace to me, and the fact that she feels safe to lay her eggs on my patio fills me with a certain crazy kind of pride that peace and love live here.

    • April says:

      We have a cardinal lady building a nest near our deck. I can’t quite see it from the window where I wash dishes, but I can see her fly in and out.

  8. Love the bluebird and the messages in your post. Thanks for a bright spot in my day!

  9. reocochran says:

    I read in a Guideposts once about birds and creatures can be messengers. This confirmed my feeling about the spirit of my Grandfather M. in a bird’s visit on the day he passed away. I wrote about this cardinal on one of my posts, April. If you see the bluebird often, it may be a special ‘comfort’ to you, to know it may be bearing you a positive message! I think the way it stayed there, while you found your camera, fiddled with the lens cap and then, taking its image in a photo, was remarkable! Great post!

    • April says:

      I’m frequently visited by yellow butterflies. I believe they are messages from my dad. It might not be the same as the bird messages, but I know it makes me feel comfort when one circles around me.

Comments are closed.