Everything Changes, Everything Stays the Same

There was a brief moment in my life I found myself boo-hooing over the fact that my kids didn’t need me as much as they used to. Now, I’m kind of enjoying life without the joys of motherhood. Until I was reminded that I have only substituted human children for animals.

I still have to…….

puppy-proof the house for the times the grandpuppy comes to visit

wipe drool off the face of our Mastiff

clean up puke

clean litter pans, which are the cats version of a diaper

choose healthy pet food

wipe nose and paw prints off the windows

take the animals for regular check-ups

give them baths

pick up after them

remind them that the water bowl is not a toy

give them appropriate places to scratch

wipe snot from their noses

wipe goobers from their eyes

play with them

make sure they can’t escape through an open door

break up sibling rivalry spats

share my lunch with them

clip their nails while trying to keep them from squirming.

All while enjoying the benefits of a great snuggle, the cooing of a purr, the wag of a tail when we come home, and the fact that I can talk and talk, and they think I’m the most interesting person–telling the most wonderful story they can’t quite understand.

Pretty much the same as raising children.

 

 

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Everything Changes, Everything Stays the Same

  1. We’re getting a puppy soon after 2.5 years without a dog, and this was a great reminder of what is headed my way. Thanks for the laugh this morning! πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      Oh! Puppy potty training! How fun πŸ˜‰

      • I know, I know…sometimes it seems crazy but I also miss that unconditional love and joy. Perhaps I shouldn’t mention that I also have three kids? (Gulp) πŸ™‚

        • April says:

          Ha! I thought I wanted to have half-dozen or more kids. Thankfully, I started later in life and the third child definitely changed my mind. Three was plenty, I call them a passel–in my mind they are. πŸ™‚

      • Love the passel! I always joke that my capacity is 2.5 kids, so I’m consistently half a kid behind. It’s the combination of the kids and the puppy that worries me…but I think the benefits of the dog will outweigh the added responsibilities.

  2. mewhoami says:

    How right you are. I haven’t quite reached this point yet, but when I visit my mom’s and am surrounded by her family of pets, it does feel like children running around. They are both very similar. The only thing missing is the ability to assign chores.

  3. suzjones says:

    Oh yes, all that too!!

Comments are closed.