Here Comes Peter Cottontail

Our daughter is visiting us before she begins her new educational path to becoming a Hospice Nurse. She is so like me, yet so different.

Except when it comes to sugar.

We are servants of ice cream. We fall to our knees paying respect to the freezers containing our coveted delights. We try to control our drooling, so as not to draw attention to ourselves when a “floor swabbing in the freezer section” is announced over the loud speaker, ignorant to the fact our squeals of excitement upon finding our favorite flavor in stock attracts attention.

Okay, I’m exaggerating, but our internal GPS seems to bring us to stand in front of all the flavors which span an entire aisle.

We like to overindulge ourselves with the luscious creamy goodness. Even though neither one of our bodies tolerate it for different reasons, we can’t resist. At times, we substitute with sorbet or frozen fruit bars, but—I gotta tell you, the substitution isn’t quite as satisfying.

Guess how hard it is for us to pass the Bunny Candy? Yes! That huge maze of sugar we must navigate upon entering the store. The maze I have mastered, helping me avoid succumbing to temptation when I’m alone.

We are enablers of each other’s nasty sugar habit.

Little Missy likes those awful looking mutant marshmallow things, called Peeps. Ugh. The one sugar thing I can pass on. However….the jelly bean temptation cannot be ignored.

Ha! I found out that she uses the same type of rationalizations when contemplating whether or not to purchase something non-organic. Yes…Dad likes Peeps, we must get some.

I’m onto those who design the placement of particular grocery items to challenge the people with self-discipline issues. Obviously, there are studies which prove that most people turn right upon entering a grocery store–at least they do at our local grocers. That is where all the temptation is placed. If turning left, it leads straight to the vegetables and fruit.

I strive to shop the perimeter of the grocery store, it’s the healthy place—if sour cream, pudding, cheese, bacon, and processed lunch meat are ignored. Thankfully, the spices are on the end, so that I don’t have to go the length of that aisle.

This morning/afternoon, we are preparing to gather healthy foods for our Easter dinner. However, we will be turning left, and will try to avoid the ice cream aisle–but it does go with pie–which is also located in the perimeter. Pie must be healthy if it’s around the perimeter—right?  😉

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Here Comes Peter Cottontail

  1. mewhoami says:

    Like mother, like daughter. I’m with you on the peeps. Those things are horrible. In our house, it’s my husband who is the ice cream lover. I could go a lifetime without it and probably be perfectly content He on the other hand, must have it at minimum, once a week. It’s the cakes and brownies that get me.

    • April says:

      The last time I ate ice cream I was so sick, so it actually has turned me off. My daughter got the ice cream, I got the frozen fruit bars. 🙂 Sugar is my enemy in any form. Like Sue, I’m trying to cut back and hope to eventually cut it completely out of my diet.

  2. suzjones says:

    Oh dear, your rationalizing is making me laugh. I hope you enjoy your Easter though.

  3. Glynis Jolly says:

    I can pass on the bunny candy. The sugary stuff lingers too long in the mouth. However, ice cream is a whole other subject. I don’t think I’ll ever get enough of it.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Oh dear! but ice cream is so tempting, especially with Pie. Lovely to know that your daughter is planning to be a hospice nurse.

    • April says:

      Pie and ice cream are my downfall. My daughter is a bit of a surprise to us. When she was young, we had to wrestle her and hold her down for immunizations. One time it took two nurses, me, and a third nurse to give her the injection. She knows it will be difficult, but she believes that those at the end of their lives deserve as much care and kindness she can give. Yes, we’re proud.

Comments are closed.