It’s All a Numbers Game

Two – The number of times I smacked the snooze alarm.

Five – The number miles per hour under the posted speed limit I travel when it’s raining.

Twenty-Five – The number of miles per hour under the posted speed limit the car behind me, pretending to be my rudder, had to travel until a passing opportunity was presented. Apparently, in our neck of the woods, the normal speed limit is 20 miles over the posted speed limit—rain or shine.

Ninety – The number of minutes spent waiting to see the ear doctor.

Two – The number of minutes spent with said doctor.

Fifty-Five – The number of years I have been hanging around. Today, I am an official Senior Citizen. Woo Hoo! Discounts–love them. The number is relative—in my mind I’m far younger than that number.

Three – The age I would have been as of May 31, 2014. Three years cancer free. Unfortunately, I have to wait three more months to be positive that I can make that claim.

One – The number of ladies who came into the doctor’s office with one of those fold up rain bonnets. You know, the old-lady plastic kind…they must have originated in the 50’s or 60’s…maybe earlier? I remember seeing them as a child. No offense to anybody reading this who enjoys wearing these hats, they simply make me laugh.

Seven – The number of times an older man said “what” to the receptionist at the doctors office.

Three – The number of women I always seem to encounter when it rains, who use redneck ingenuity by placing plastic grocery shopping bags on their heads for rain protection. Some are pretty creative with the style of their plastic bags. I don’t know, the fold up ones make me chuckle, but the grocery bags make me laugh out loud.

One – The brilliant idea I had to fix a pair of reading glasses to wear with my mono vision contacts. I’m sure they will be grand entertainment for my kids, but they work! Now, I just have to adjust them to sit straight on my head. What can I say, my dad inspired me to be a great little weedhopper. I also have a natural aptitude to create my own redneck designs.

Eight-Plus Some Hours – The days left to file our taxes. I have them prepared, but Ms. Procrastinator Pants has not filed them. It probably has something to do with the fact we owe.

Seven-Plus Some Hours – The days until our daughter comes for another visit!

Most of these made me smile today. Well–the waiting for the doctor irritated me a bit, but not near as much as it used to.

Hope you find something to smile today.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It’s All a Numbers Game

  1. aviets says:

    Oh, seven days till your daughter visits – I”m so excited for you!
    About those fold-up rain bonnets…my grandmother always had one handy, and they make me giggle too. I always wonder at what point there will be no one left who still wears those. Can you imagine seeing an old woman 50 years from now, with tattoos and nose piercings leftover from today, putting on her rain bonnet? -Amy

    • April says:

      Maybe they’re the grocery bag type? I wouldn’t be surprised that we will all have to use the reusable bags eventually. My daughter is telling me that, in Seattle, if they don’t have a reusable bag, they have to pay an extra fee. It’s nice for the landfills.

  2. mewhoami says:

    It’s nice to see that other people drive below the speed limit when it’s raining too. My husband is in the 20 over club. He doesn’t let anything slow him down – scares the daylights out of me. All that waiting for the doctor for a two minute visit is annoying. The grocery bag paragraph made me laugh. I just saw that last week. A lady had a grocery bag wrapped around her head in the rain. It was funny and made me laugh out loud too. But hey, whatever works. Is today your birthday? If so, Happy Happy Birthday!!

    • April says:

      Yup, today’s my birthday. One day I used to ignore. When faced with a challenge like cancer, living another year is something to embrace. I know I should have before, but my eyes are wide open now.

  3. I will say, that you do look much younger April 🙂

    • April says:

      I have good genes, Irene. My grandma lived until she was 90, and my mom is 78, and neither of them look(ed) their ages either.

  4. suzjones says:

    Oh yay!! I just loved your list of numbers. Your post brought a smile to my face.
    As for those fold up rain bonnets… I lived with my grandmother for a number of years as a child and teen and she always had one. The funny thing is that I have a vivid recollection of pulling the tie too hard and snapping it and then having to find another way to fasten it under my chin. lol

  5. Cathy says:

    I have lots of reusable bags in my car but when I take I don’t take in enough cuz I don’t want to buy that much but end up doing it anyway.
    Really just meant to get the “HAPPY BIRTHDAY” to you….less then 2 months and I will join you in the “55 senior” category and looking forward to it. My grandma lived til 98 but mom only 48 so I am happy every year I get a birthday!!!! And I am sure you are also…..hope it is/was a great day and have a good evening!!! hugs april

  6. I smiled through most of your post. Pulled back the smile on the waiting part. Though I did also pull back the smile at bit when you said 55 was official senior citizen age. Not in MY book APril! Happy birthday !!!!!!!! You are NOT senior anything unless it’s by choice. I have no intention what so ever of thinking I’m a senior at the age of 55. So I have no intention of letting others think so either!!!! 🙂

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Happy Number 55! We have to wait for 65 to be seniors, although insurance companies give some discounts to the over 55. Glad you had a good day.

Comments are closed.