Compliant Patient is Compliant

Being the ever-so-compliant patient, and the umpteenth attempt to change over to a healthier lifestyle, I decided to start small this time. After all, that is what my therapist has been trying to encourage me to do….set a goal, and take baby steps to reach it. I’ve decided to start with crawling before I take my first steps.

I put on my shorts for the first time this season.

6K2A0403

Too bad I’m not proficient with Photoshop. I would have thinned out my thighs and made my toes look like movie star toes. πŸ™‚

I had a bit of a dilemma deciding on the 20-year-old, ratty-tatty shorts, spattered with many different paint colors, or the muumuu. I’m sure my husband was happy that I chose the shorts.

I had to dig to find the gas mask to conquer the pollen, but had no success. Ha! Not really, but I did have my Albuterol handy.

I swiped the dirt off of one of the deck chairs, and soaked up some rays. Here’s proof—since I’mΒ on vacation from laundry—I thought I needed to share the obligatory Vacation-Foot photo. Unfortunately, we don’t have a beach or a pool in our backyard, so you’ll have to use your imagination. For the record, my legs ARE that glaringly white.

Ha! I was questioned why I shoot in Manual Mode and that using the Aperture or Shutter Speed settings were, by far better. I wanted to capture the wings flapping, and let's just say that I think I have more success with Manual Mode.

Ha! I was questioned why I shoot in Manual Mode and that using the Aperture or Shutter Speed settings were, by far better. I wanted to capture the wings flapping, and let’s just say that I think I have more success with Manual Mode.

I was visited by one of these critters, which are annoying.

I’m sure they might sting if aggravated, but mostly, they hover in our personal space. They also bore holes into our deck to lay their little eggs. Carpenter Bee–fitting, isn’t it? My husband, the bee-hater, uses a racquet to smack them across the yard.

I only ate five spice drops, because I ate all the others the day before. Then I hunted for a healthy something for lunch. An obvious sign I need to go to the grocery store again.6K2A0410

I got in some exercise by letting the dog in and out about ten times before noon, having to leave my perch on the couch each time.

Some pretty decent crawling, I’d say.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Compliant Patient is Compliant

  1. aviets says:

    Oh, I would love a warm sunny day of sitting in the back yard! Good for you!
    I’m behind on my blog reading and commenting, but wanted to say that I’m pulling for you in this most recent round of medical crap and am sending hugs and positive energy your way. -Amy

    • April says:

      Thanks, I’m trying to catch up on the reading myself. I tried to do it while soaking the sun, but I couldn’t see the screen very well.

  2. suzjones says:

    I’d say you deserve a pat on the back for those baby steps you’re taking πŸ™‚

  3. Soaking up that good ol’ vitamin d. I am happily jealous! πŸ™‚

  4. mewhoami says:

    Shorts day! Sounds fabulous. No one ever said that baby steps can’t include a little crawling here and there. I say as long as you’re moving then you’re doing great.

    Side note: I only have sporadic internet this week, so I missed a very important post of yours & haven’t been able to post a comment on it. I’m sorry about the test findings, but I’m happy that they are seeing everything early and can keep an eye on it.

    • April says:

      I am determined, and this is an area I always sabotage myself. Now is the time to test whether all that therapy will be a benefit. Hard work, but it is what it is.

      I had no internet at my father-in-laws, and I’m still trying to catch up on all the posts I’ve missed. I have to do something throughout the day, or my husband will think that all I do is sit on the computer. πŸ˜‰

      • mewhoami says:

        No sabotaging this time. πŸ™‚ It is what it is…that’s the summary of my life.

        I’ll be catching up this week. We just returned from a week trip ourselves.

  5. Sounds great…. keep upthe good work πŸ™‚
    Susan x

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Arrrgh….pollen!

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    Spring has a way of inspiring us to do things we’ve been meaning to do since last fall or even last spring. I was cutting vines yesterday I had meant to cut last fall. Although the weather was cold last November, the vines were brittle and easier to deal with then. As it was, it took me longer yesterday. I did enjoy my time outside though. πŸ˜€

    • April says:

      I am actually thinking about getting out in the yard and doing some work myself. I love listing to the birds, and the peace–when the neighbors dogs shut up. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.