Being Open to Underlying Lessons

The inspiration for my squirrel personality definition was prompted by an event I attended yesterday. It was an informal photo editing party courtesy of my photography club. We were there to collaborate with each other and learn from the more experienced.

We weren’t required to take anything, so all I took was my camera. I had illusions that I would load photo editing software on my laptop, find some photos I wanted some assistance with, and venture to the little town I have fallen in love with, and – well collaborate.

The courthouse in that little town---and the main street is brick.

The courthouse in that little town—and the main street is brick.

This PROcrastinator, did not load the editing software on the laptop, couldn’t find a flash drive to at least take photos in order to receive feedback, AND couldn’t even find the photos in the many storage places to transfer to a flash drive.

So—I took the only thing I could find. My camera.

Obviously, I left my brain behind, but I did have a pad of paper and a pen to take some notes, which I hope I can apply.

I learned a lot.

I laughed with friends.

I made some new friends.

I learned that I need to work on that ADD crap so that I can keep my attention on a conversation, in order to avoid appearing to be a complete idiot because I lost focus somewhere during the conversation.

The best lesson? The worry over what I can, or can’t accomplish, isn’t important. While I believe I can tweak some of my quirks to make life a bit more easy, going with the flow and enjoying what I’m doing at any moment is what’s important.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Being Open to Underlying Lessons

  1. suzjones says:

    Glad you had fun. Sounds like it was a great afternoon.

  2. Dave says:

    I’m glad that I am not the only one who is frequently absent-minded. I like to comfort myself with the thought that it is a sign of genius. Reality, for me, is normally just a lack of organization.

    In my opinion, it wasn’t all a loss. I love bell towers or clock towers, and it looks like you captured this one beautifully.

  3. I have a brain that does not focus well on conversation. It just doesn’t. It’s sometimes a battle. But I don’t beat myself up. I have learned to say “Say that again please” A LOT. When I seem to have gone off and left someone’s words behind.

    Sounds like the photography event turned out a success then.

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    Your post was such a happy one. It’s so good to see that. Are the days warming up in Georgia? Being out and about with friends can be so much fun. I hope you continue to get out like this.

    • April says:

      I suppose it is a little warmer, but this morning I was out and about with a short sleeved shirt on. All the locals had on scarves, gloves, hats, and ski jackets. Then I looked at the temp…it was 39. So, I guess one would call that cold. 🙂

  5. mewhoami says:

    That sounds like a lot of fun! I love that you’re getting out, meeting people and making new friends. That’s wonderful. Also, the courthouse is beautiful. Small town buildings are always my favorite.

    • April says:

      That little town is the county seat. Of course, the address of the actual town far exceeds the main downtown street, but this is my favorite part of the town. Getting out is nice–especially when I don’t have to force myself, or fret for a week before about having to go.

Comments are closed.