It is what it is

I am a squirrel.

I have spent more wasted moments of my life kicking myself for being a builder of piles. Here and there, I have stashes of goodies hidden under a stack of something.

The photos I take, are all buried in various hard drives, thumb drives, or stored on cds. Not in any category, all of them are willy nilly all over the innards of whatever a hard drive is made of.

I find things which should be in the fridge, in the pantry. I even found a cat in the fridge one day—I kid you not, and she was fine. Actually, that was one thing I didn’t put in the wrong place, she sauntered in their on her own.

I work hard to reign in my tendencies to hoard, and to get rid of stuff that no longer serves a purpose—you know, like expired goods in the kitchen. Oh! And for the record, peppermint syrup – the kind to make the Starbuck’s peppermint mocha coffees – it has an expiration date for a reason. I tested it. So yes, spices and flavorings do kind of taste funky, past their expiration dates.

I have watched the squirrels gather up goodies in their cheeks and cart them off and bury them for later. I have often wondered how they remember where their treasure is. I have come to a conclusion. Just like me, they have no clue. The fun in hiding the goodies is all a part of the fun. The fun part is the hunt to find them.

So….instead of being disappointed in myself because I can’t find something, I’m just going to go with it. Eventually, it will turn up. Never when I want it, but I will discover that treasure, some day.

Yes, I’m a squirrel, and proud of it.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It is what it is

  1. aviets says:

    Funny – this reminds me so much of my husband. Stuff in the wrong place more often than in the right place. Last week he picked up a 3-pack of Dove body wash at Sam’s for me. I found it in the refrigerator and just left it there for a couple of days because it was so funny. This morning I found a pile of change in the spice cabinet. I never know if he’s done these things by accident or because he thinks it’s funny – either one is equally plausible. 🙂 -Amy

    • April says:

      I like that—I’m just going to “pretend” that it is intentional and laugh about it. Sure is better than the tears and the rise in blood pressure getting mad at myself because I can’t find something.

  2. mewhoami says:

    Spices have an expiration date? Uh oh. You may not find the things when you want to. Instead, you may find them when you need to.

    • April says:

      Yes, the spices don’t taste right. Try a little taste of Oregano that has a best by 2006 date on it….not so good. Flavorings are worse. 🙂 As far as finding things when I need to? I’m working on that one.

  3. If it helps you figure out what to keep and what to get rid of….remember that squirrels are only keeping things they need to survive. 😉 I love this post. Great attitude! 🙂

    • April says:

      I’m definitely making things harder on myself than I need to. Your comment about squirrels keeping only what they need to survive is perfect. I’m going to keep that in the back of my mind each day that I place something somewhere “to deal with later”. 🙂

  4. suzjones says:

    Happy Sunday my squirrel friend!!! 🙂

  5. I love the way you’ be described this. It’s a serious problem but you’ve really added a humourous slant to it. I think I might have a bit of the squirrel in me too.
    Blessings. Susan ❤

    • April says:

      I’m finding I’m making myself more frustrated with my lack of organization. I’m just going to accept part of this as my personality, and maybe I can come up with a solution. Instead of fighting against myself, maybe there is something I’m not seeing that I can actually change. 🙂

      • It’s a timing thing – I think the more we fight it the harder it is. Attacking it from the rear usually works for me. I’ll plan on doing several things which border the pile of stuff to be filed/organised and then sneak a few bits in. Before I know it I’ve managed a big dint in it or managed to get it done.
        It doesn’t always work out like that – I have help in the clutter area. My other half seems to think I’m better at filing (I am when I’m well) an dos he puts EVERYTHING on my desk. Drives me crazy but…. it will work out. (The bin is very handy here).
        Good luck with it April.
        Blessings, Susan x

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    I have a tendency to be a squirrel too. This is especially true with my computer. It’s been over five years since I’ve do any real web graphics. I resize, change the look a little, and brighten up photos, but real web graphics — I don’t do it anymore. I don’t even use my own photos usually because being one-handed makes picture taking difficult. Yet, I have oodles of web graphic in their original forms on my harddrive, CDs, and DVDs. The ones on CDs and DVDs are stuck in drawers of plastic chests you buy at KMart that are against the walls in this so-called computer room. I should just toss them in the trash but I don’t.

    I don’t want to be called a hoarder but I have to be honest, with some things I am. 😦

Comments are closed.