Shhh! (whisper) I Had Lung Cancer, But Don’t Tell Anyone

Hopefully, I can make this short. Too much on the mind this morning.

Cancer. The ugliest word in my vocabulary at this point in time.

I hate looking on the caller id and seeing Cancer Center. Ugh. The only people who call us on our land line (yes, we still have one), besides my mom or father-in-law. Most other calls are unknown solicitors.

I have a bunch of statistics about lung cancer, but I have previously covered all of them. Did you know that, worldwide, there are more deaths each year from lung cancer—than colon, breast, and prostate cancers combined?

What makes me extremely sad?

Where are all the shaved heads in support of lung cancer patients? The patients with the most complex form of cancer because there are no flashy 3-day walks, no huge displays of solidarity, the patients who hide in shame because “we must have deserved cancer, because we smoked”.

Guess what? The numbers of non-smokers being diagnosed with lung cancer are on the rise, while the numbers of smokers being diagnosed are on the decline. Probably because more people are understanding the dangers of that rotten habit. Most of us have seen the horrid commercials.

There are other causes of lung cancer.

How much money is funneled to research for the PREVENTION of breast cancer instead of treatments? How about coming up with a more reliable detection machine instead of the antiquated squish and smash torture device?

Are you aware of the amount of money a 3-day walker has to raise just to participate?

When was the last time you saw a countrywide, or worldwide lung cancer event for awareness, or a cure, for lung cancer? The Great American Smoke-Out? Nope, just an encouragement for smokers to give up the habit. Anybody? There are a few events, but how many businesses, major groups, or celebrities sport the color for lung cancer awareness?

Do you know what month lung cancer awareness is?

I’ll bet you know the month for breast cancer awareness, because the world goes crazy for pink.

Some of you may know this from my previous posts—do you even know the color for lung cancer awareness?

Pearl.

And that makes me sad.

 

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in That Thing Called Cancer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Shhh! (whisper) I Had Lung Cancer, But Don’t Tell Anyone

  1. mewhoami says:

    Sad to say, I didn’t know the answer for either. I don’t recall ever seeing any type of fundraiser or awareness event for lung cancer. That is sad. Just the other day, I read a story on the news about a teenage girl who died from lung cancer. She had developed a tumor. It wasn’t brought on by smoking. It just happened. As you said, there are other reasons for lung cancer besides smoking. Even still, those people should not be ignored. No one ‘deserves’ cancer, of any type.

    • April says:

      Second hand smoke, radon, and some types of jobs where a person is exposed to carcinogens, are a few of the non-smoker related causes. I’m just curious where ALL the pink proceeds actually go.

  2. I know – being involved in more ways than one I had cause to dread the “C” word. It never leaves really, and there’s no month for Thyroid cancer, or Mulitple Myelome (bone cancer). Yes, I’m sad too. Hop you are okay.
    Blessings. Susan x

    • April says:

      My sister had thyroid cancer, but hasn’t been for any follow ups for 15 years. I have a fried suffering from an extremely rare form of bile duct cancer. It’s so rare, there isn’t any research. The scientists know what happens when cancer forms, I’m just waiting for them to discover how to keep them from mutating.

  3. My mum died of breast cancer, but totally hear what you’re saying. This brave young lady took part in a rather radical campaign to raise awareness for pancreatic cancer to highlight the imbalance and came up for some flack, but I say good for her. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2568262/Tragedy-woman-face-controversial-pancreatic-cancer-campaign-dies-aged-just-24.html

    Hope you are better now? x

    • April says:

      I lost a friend last year to breast cancer. Actually, I have lost a couple of friends to the same disease. I’m okay because I pushed my doctors. Because only 10% of nodules are cancerous, they didn’t feel it was necessary to biopsy. They wanted to watch and see if it grows. I looked at my pulmonologist and asked what if I were one of the 10%–if I died from lung cancer, I was going to come back and haunt his days for ever. Anyway, I have a scan on Monday. Now I just need to learn how to live my life fully, instead of in 6-month increments waiting for bad news. I feel like that young woman. I can’t tell you how frustrating it is to read articles telling us that early detection. made by a machine which costs the same to run, as a mammogram–doesn’t show enough evidence that it will save lives. But yet, my doctors tell me I’m cured. So….who do I believe? Susan Komen figured out how to spread around her message, I feel I should be able to do the same.

  4. bmagpub says:

    I know you’re not after sympathy for yourself, but I know that lung cancer is certainly “not sexy”, if you know what you mean. And as you say, lung cancer is normally associated with being a result of smoking. Totally unfair – I know that there are other causes. Thank you for letting me know the colour – you have started changing the world :-). I would like to reblog, and if you allow, post this on my FaceBook page too. Wishing you a good day today. Brett

    • April says:

      I don’t mind the reblog. 🙂 I have been looking for something to volunteer for, and maybe this is my cause. 🙂

  5. I understand your sadness. In the past four months I have been told about 4 people being diagnosed with lung cancer. One of them being my dear friend’s father. I hear your sadness, and feel it.

    • April says:

      I want to hear some more noise about early detection for lung cancer. You know, our government created an entire generation of smokers. When my dad was in WWII, they handed out ration packets. All of them had a package of cigarettes with matches. Anyway, I think it’s time I figured out how the plan behind the pink awareness.

      • I wonder if you can find that information? I remember when Lance Armstrong created the “LIVEstrong” bracelets. Then everyone was doing it and someone asked how he felt about that. He responded (I paraphrase here) that if anyone else can raise money doing that, good for them! I would think anyone pursing cures and cares for cancer patients would be thrilled to see other cancer research make breakthroughs and get help too. Any breakthrough may help MANY cancer patients. I admire your drive.

        • April says:

          I have had many causes, I write letters to congressmen, even the President. I usually get a standard form letter thanking me for my concern…blah, blah, blah. My email gets passed around, and before I know it, I’m being asked to vote for legislation in another state, which I’m not registered in, to save the gnat. (a little sarcasm here) But this is different. If I can figure out how the breast cancer awareness campaign is so successful, maybe I can figure out how to apply it to lung cancer. Even childhood cancer isn’t placed in such a spotlight, and one child with cancer is just not acceptable to me. Part of my point is that we are really aware of breast cancer. When are they going to put money into the PREVENTION of breast cancer so that women/men don’t have to poison their bodies with that toxic chemo? I would like to see their financial records and see where the money actually goes. The slogan of fight for the cure is all wrong. I would like to see proactive actions instead of reactive.

          • It’s something I don’t understand about our world. Proactive is rarely ever considered.

            Just as a side bar to all of this. I think a lot of the preventative will have to come from major over hauls of our food intake. The chemicals have got to go I am stunned at what is “allowed” to be put in to our food. And we go blindly on eating horrible things and doing terrible things to our bodies. (I think of this when thinking of preventative and health).

  6. Cancer is very tough April. My mother had a biopsi thursday, and now we just wait to have the answer. My cousin was operated for breast cancer short time ago, and now in treatment to avoid a repeat. Really tough.

  7. April, as someone who has had Stage 3 breast cancer, I have been neglectfully unaware of the statistics of lung cancer. Thank you for raising my awareness. This year I will be blogging about lung cancer. Bless you.

    • April says:

      I never know what I would like to hear when I divulge that I had cancer, and “cross my fingers” am free of it right now. I have far too many friends who have fought breast cancer, and know few battling lung cancer. Of course, lung cancer usually isn’t caught until it is a stage where they can’t do much about it. No amount of chemo, radiation or whatever will “cure” it. I’m sending you my prayers from strength to fight your battle.

      • Thanks, April. I am and have been cancer free for a few years now. Am praying for you, too. We all need prayers in this fight, and certainly information needs to be spread along with research dollars. Thank you again for your insight into this this disease.

  8. jennybird says:

    Sadly, I only knew the colour was pearl because my mother was diagnosed with lung cancer in September. She passed away last Sunday 😦 It does bother me that other cancers get more “attention” than lung cancer, now that I’ve watched my mother go through it. I’ve learned more about cancer these last few months than in my entire life.

    • April says:

      I am so sorry to hear that jennybird. I also suffer from Asthma, so everytime I even think I may not be able to breathe, I freak out. Anyway, lung cancer is a nasty disease, and it is one I’m going to see what I can do to help with the fight to bring more awareness.

  9. reocochran says:

    I am so sorry about this situation, really will keep you in my prayers, too. I wish that the cancer fund would spread their money over to the lung cancer fund. I did not know it was the color of pearl. Sorry about this fact about me, that I had not really ‘dug’ into your posts, to find this out about you, April! Hugs, Robin

    • April says:

      Thanks, Robin…but I believe that things happen for a reason. Maybe I got lung cancer to be an advocate. I’ve just been feeling sorry for myself, and haven’t been thinking of others who are also suffering.

Comments are closed.