Men, Trucks, and Barcaloungers

While I call myself a Master Procrastinator, I discovered a better description—I’m the “Pro” part of procrastination.

I told my son that I was going to the grocery store this morning, and to make a list of what he wants. He did, and I have to say how strange it was to see our favorite beer on that list. He is almost 25, but in my eyes he remains 5. Way too young for me to be buying beer for him.

Absolutely nothing to do with my post, and a day late. I though it appropriate for a post about nothing, really.

Absolutely nothing to do with my post, and a day late. I thought it appropriate for a post about nothing, really.

So—I’m procrastinating—again. I don’t want to go to the grocery store. As long as I can scrape something together for dinner, I can delay the inevitable.

Why does that boomerang kid of mine need food and beer? I think I’m done being mommy mommy two shoes. I believe a strike is in order. He is old enough to fend for himself.

My husband is still out of state helping his dad. My father-in-law was set to go into a care facility last week, but ended up in the hospital with pneumonia. Tomorrow, he will finally go to the facility–unfortunately, with the assistance of Hospice.

He has asked my husband to bring his favorite recliner chair, to make his room appear more like home. Obviously, it’s a well loved chair, and fits my father-in-law perfectly. My husband said it’s rather worn, and held together with duct tape.

I had to smile over this story because my husband sits in the same chair all the time. I have to admit that I sit relatively in the same spot on our uncomfortable couch, because I have one too many persistent cats who must be near, if not on me.

Recently, my husband sat in one of our other chairs and said something about the lumbar part being different than “his” chair. Duh! That recliner is molded to his hind quarters and back.

Men seem to have an affinity for trucks and their favorite chairs. I suppose big screen televisions too–which I don’t mind during football season. While I love yarn and knitting needles, they are the only inanimate objects I can’t live without. Oh! Does coffee count? That is definitely a must-have too.

While I’m happy that my husband is comfortable and pleased with his recliner, I will have to draw the line if he pulls out the duct tape to repair it.

Now….what should I be doing? Oh yeah, something else.

Β 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Men, Trucks, and Barcaloungers

  1. suzjones says:

    Whilst you were busy doing something else did you get to the store at all?

  2. reocochran says:

    April, some of your thoughts are like mine! That is kind of scary! First of all, I had to name the reference of a t.v. show that had a chair taped with duct tape, “Frasier’s” father had one! Also, I could not live without coffee, if I go past the bank, I stop to get a cup at their courtesy desk. If I am in a big mall, I want to carry a cup of coffee around with me, flavored and possibly capped with whipped cream… it is my ‘reward’ for shopping. In one of our grocery stores, (there are three inside town and two just out of town) they have a Starbucks. I have used that one, in particular, to get me to make a list and head on out to the store. Now that I am ‘alone’ I don’t really care about my cabinets being full nor what I eat, usually. But coffee! That will always be around! Smiles, Robin
    I hope your father in law will be comfortable and that Hospice will help him. I wish it were different, though… your family will be in my prayers.

    • April says:

      Kindred coffee spirits πŸ™‚ I think that my father-in-law is a lot like Frasier’s dad in a lot of ways. I like duct tape, and I use it for many things, just not for repairing furniture.

  3. I’m sorry about your father in law. I hope he is feeling better. How difficult to have him so far away.

    Butts and chairs, they go together for sure. πŸ˜‰

    • April says:

      It’s hard to say goodbye to a parent. I know I had a hard time with my dad, but it really is part of life. The hard deaths to deal with are the ones who leave us too early. Just like my dad, he has been suffering a long time, and we have been preparing ourselves for this. The only thing I wish is that I could take away his discomfort. My husband feels the same—so if that chair will make him feel better, then he’ll have the chair. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m supposed to go to the grocery store today and have even started cleaning to avoid the task. Now I’m on here, avoiding the task. Sigh.

    We also have our own spots. We have an L shaped couch and the other day my husband sat on my side of the “L”. I was like what are you doing? This is so weird sitting over here. It was a big night for us πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      I like to pretend I’m cleaning to avoid the store–then I get distracted. I survived. I think the birds outside will be happy I went as well. I picked up some seed for them.

      We have big nights like that as well. Of course, I have to sit in the chair next to my husband because there is no way he will sit next to a bunch of cats.

      • I like that: “pretend I’m cleaning” I’m guessing that’s better than actually cleaning.

        Really? The cats are the best part of sitting. Whenever I get one in my lap my husband has to refill my water or get up and find my chapstick because I can’t make the cat get up. It works out nicely for me πŸ™‚

        • April says:

          Pretend cleaning. It’s like when you want to appear you’re eating by pushing the food you don’t like around your plate. Pretend cleaning is pushing things around from room to room to make it look like something has been done. πŸ™‚

          I agree, cats do help us out. πŸ™‚

  5. mewhoami says:

    Sue asked my question. I’m with you. If you look hard enough, there’s almost always something that can be made for dinner. I call those the ‘creative dinners” which always makes my husband a little nervous. πŸ™‚ My late step-father had a favorite chair too. I don’t remember him ever sitting in a different one. That was his and everyone knew it. He loved that chair. Although it is aged and molded for him, it has now become my mother’s chair.

    • April says:

      Is that chair held together with duct tape? I actually came up with a pretty good dinner. I actually found some unexpired ingredients. πŸ™‚

      • mewhoami says:

        It’s not. Not that I’m aware of anyhow. We did have a duck taped car once though. πŸ™‚ Unexpired is preferred, but when it comes down to it, how accurate is that date anyway? πŸ™‚

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    I have a suggestion for you. I’m assuming that your son lives with you. I remember something about that from an earlier post of yours. I’m assuming that he drives too. Now then, you hate the grocery store. Your son wants food. Give him the list and send him to do the food shopping. In return for his effort, fix him his favorite meal.

    Mind you, this is just a suggestion. It may not work, or you may not like it. Please think about it though.

    • April says:

      I have sent him with a list. Just like with my husband, I spell out everything…the name brand I want and where it is in the store. I tell them if they don’t have whatever I’m looking for, don’t substitute. They only half listen. But yes, I send him off—but I know I have to get out of the house as well–even if it is to the grocery store. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.