Interpreting Our Beliefs

One of the mid-season premiere “tester” shows that I have been intrigued by, is the show Believe. I believe it’s about crooked people wanting to get their grubby little paws on a little girl with psychokinetic abilities. She is guarded by an ex-con, her father, who doesn’t know he is her father. They are on the run. Sometimes I have trouble following plots, and my husband isn’t around to verify that I’m “getting” what’s going on, but I believe that’s the gist of the show.

Funny thing about believing something will happen, the results may be different than expected.

While I believed that the Seattle Seahawks would win the Super Bowl this year, I have been believing that since 1976. Took them a while….

Before moving to Georgia, we bought a lottery ticket. One. The jackpot was a ridiculous amount, but we had three children entering the stage we had to figure out how to pay for college.

I visualized we had the winning ticket. I believed we had the winner. But…no, we didn’t win.

However, my husband’s career was on a path to help us with college. He received promotions, which ultimately resulted in a major decision requiring a relocation to the headquarters of the corporation he works for. It just so happened to be in the state of Georgia. A state which uses lottery proceeds to award scholarships to high school students maintaining a GPA of 3.0–as long as they attend a Georgia state college. It’s also a state which awards grants to students wishing to learn a trade.

Our two oldest were on the path for the scholarships, and it turns out our youngest wants to learn a trade until he figures out what path he wants to take.

See how that worked?

Believing in ourselves is kind of like my belief about the Seahawks. Sometimes it takes a while.

We have to pay attention to what is happening in our lives. The events we believe will happen, or what we believe we can achieve but didn’t, can be perceived as failures.

It turns out, what we believe will happen, does—but in an unexpected manner.

We may not recognize what we have achieved, until after we are disappointed by expectations that events weren’t as imagined.

Don’t give up believing, and remain alert to rewards in disguise.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Interpreting Our Beliefs

  1. aviets says:

    Thanks for that, April. After just getting news of yet another disappointment, and feeling completely worn down, I needed to hear the reminder. Sometimes it takes longer than we want for things to work out. -Amy

  2. mewhoami says:

    Every road leads somewhere. Sometimes the destination is unexpected, but that doesn’t mean that it was the wrong road. I believe the only failure in life is when a person says “I give up.” Otherwise, it’s all a learning process and a journey of sometimes unplanned, but needful paths.

    • April says:

      I’ve thrown my hands up, but only to let go of the control I was trying to maintain. Sometimes, we just have to let things fall as they may. If we are looking, it may just be what we were looking for all along.

  3. reocochran says:

    You told a great story, including a t.v. show I have not tried. We all need to realize our gifts may not arrive in the ‘packages’ we expect. I like to dream of winning, but don’t often buy lottery tickets. I think it would be so much better if the box of money arrived on my doorstep, without any actions on my part! Smiles! I like how you wrote this, April. Especially the last line! Disguised rewards for those who are open and accepting God’s Grace, in His own time and ways! Smiles, Robin

  4. You’re turning me in to a believer! 🙂

  5. The results are almost always different than expected, aren’t they? I saw the ad for that show and was curious about it.

  6. suzjones says:

    How did I miss this post? Sorry.
    Yes, I believe we need to keep on believing. 🙂

    • April says:

      Don’t feel sorry if you miss one of my ramblings. We all have lives, one I’m actually experiencing after being “dormant” for so long. Sometimes, there is so many blogs to read, I can see where a person could get buried in it. OM is one I will never figure out how he maintains comments as well as blogging. He must be a super reader. Anyway yes, if we start turning around our dreams to failures, we lose what is being presented to us–maybe in another form, but it’s still there if we keep believing.

Comments are closed.