OMGarsh—Time to Rethink the Grandma Business

Today was a beautiful day. It was the type of weather that’s not too cold, not too hot, the wind was very subtle. Although the tree pollens are elevated, we aren’t experiencing the full-on assault of all the other pollens yet. The kind of pollen that burns the throat, because the nose is too plugged, so mouth breathing is the only way for air to reach the lungs—which feel like sand bags.

The Grandpuppy spent last night, and today with me. Whew! Exhaustion is a mild description for what I’m feeling at the moment. The morning started with the dog shuffle, which is a story in and of itself–probably blogged about.

Short recap, 2 female dogs can equal a bad situation. I wasn’t going to test the theory. On top of that, crotchety old dog against extremely high energy puppy could also spell disaster.

For the first morning trip out, I went into the yard because it was still dark, and she was acting like a chicken. The puppy sitting probably wouldn’t have been so bad if I hadn’t fallen off our 2 1/2 foot retaining wall, and then fall again trying to stand back up.

Graceful gaffes such as these are usually met with a bunch of–how stupid of you-you idiot-how could you fall off a small wall?

I have to say, that I’m quite pleased with myself–my first thought was a little prayer, that went something like this. Oh, please don’t let me slide through a bunch of dog poop! Followed by a thank you for the darkness, so that I wasn’t entertaining the neighbors, yet again.

Not one thought of berating myself.

I thought it would be good for the puppy to run off some energy, so one of the gazillion times she had to go out, I let her go on her own. After all, she needs to learn how to fly solo as well. Fenced yard–good to go.  She wasn’t coming back to the door and the panic set in. I went to check on her, and as I stood on the deck, a big hawk that was right over her, took flight.

After that, I took her out and stood watch. I don’t believe a hawk could cart her off because she is growing. Again, I wasn’t going to test the theory.

The last trip outside, before my son came to take her home, I stood among the trees that are beginning to show signs of life. For the first time since I built that 2 1/2 foot wall, seven years ago? I could feel myself begin to show signs of life.

That was totally worth a slightly sprained ankle, a goose egg and bruise on one leg, a good bruise on the other leg, a very sore shoulder, a tweaked out back which required a lot of lying flat on the floor all day. I feel some pain on one side of my rump, but I don’t even want to see what happened there.

You know what? I missed all the dog poop!

Now, that’s a victorious day for sure.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to OMGarsh—Time to Rethink the Grandma Business

  1. Gallivanta says:

    That was a bit of drama. Hope you are all fine now. I have had a spectacular trip up when out with the dog on my own driveway. It was near midnight so no one to see me either. Unfortunately..because I could have done with some help.

  2. Worth every minute… just keep telling yourself that, because that way we’ll get some more puppy sitting entertainment. Great story.
    Susan x

  3. Glynis Jolly says:

    Puppies, when they’re at that age where all they want to do is get into trouble, are a handful and it sounds like that’s exact what you had. However, it won’t be long now before you may not be seeing him as much because he won’t need the constant watch.

  4. suzjones says:

    A very good day indeed!

Comments are closed.