The Purple Ones Are Yucky

While shopping, I will dig to the back of the shelf to obtain an item I decide to purchase. I don’t want the one everybody opens with their grubby little paws, and checks out—I want the one with the factory sealed box. The one that wasn’t smashed during delivery.

Same goes for produce. Why choose the apples on top of the stack when we all know the fresher ones are on the bottom. The trick is to avoid causing an avalanche while doing so. I found the mom-skills acquired of dealing with absurd situations, such as avoiding a disaster with lightning quick reflexes, has its perks.

Yes, those are purple--they look like little black licorice candies. That's what they taste like to me. Spicy black licorice.

Yes, those are purple–they look like little black licorice candies. That’s what they taste like to me. Spicy black licorice.

I have quite the fondness for Spice Drops. They are like Gumdrops with a kick. There are two problems. First, the purple ones do not delight my taste buds. Second, the bags they are packaged in are mostly opaque. As hard as I try to shake the bags to find the one with the least amount of purple candies, I strike out every now and then.Β Luckily, I have a husband who will eat my rejects. He’s great that way. It’s what I call a balanced marriage.

 

There are days which are like a bag of Spice Drops. No matter how much the bag is shaken, some days will be filled with more purple drops than desired.

Ha! I just realized, I could be a distant relative of Forrest Gump—I should get up now, and run like he did in the movie–to work off those Spice Drops that were inhaled yesterday. I’ll report back when I reach the front door.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Purple Ones Are Yucky

  1. aviets says:

    Thanks for this smile to start my day! -Amy

  2. mewhoami says:

    I agree. The purple ones take just like black licorice. They’re disgusting. I always pass them off to my husband too, who loves black licorice.Your comparison was well done. Some days are full of those nasty purple candies, no matter what you do.

    • April says:

      Black licorice reminds me of a time my family took a trip down the Oregon coast. We stopped at a little mom & pop homemade ice cream shop. My husband ordered licorice ice cream. Ew. However, it turned into one of our family jokes because it turned his teeth and the inside of his mouth black. Black licorice and ice cream is an even more hideous combination.

      • mewhoami says:

        Haha! That would be a sight to see. A gross one. That combination is a tad bit repulsive. I hope my husband never find that ice cream. If he does, I’ll be in the other room.

  3. suzjones says:

    Haha. I was just thinking about half an hour ago “I should go for a walk” and then I kept reading blog posts lol Too late now. πŸ˜‰
    Thanks for the smile. Personally, I love purple however I understand you. It’s a bit like black jelly beans in our house. lol

  4. reocochran says:

    Are the purple ones still clove flavored? I don’t like them either! I used to be able to count on the reds being cinnamon, but found that sometimes the yellows are? Wonder why? Well, this was a fun post! I have a weakness for candy, but usually I like chocolates or Sugar Babies. Caramel or mocha coffee, too! Smiles, Robin

    • April says:

      I don’t know what the purple ones are, but they taste like black licorice to me-bleh. Not sure what the yellow, or the whites are–and what about the orange? Are they a spicy orange? I have been trying to practice mindful thinking while eating. Of course, one is supposed to be eating healthy foods while doing this. Smell, the taste, the texture—I don’t do this with the spice drops, they are to be eaten fast before I know what’s better for me. πŸ™‚ Chocolate is only my last resort if I have a sugar craving, and it’s usually the chocolate chips for making cookies.

  5. I NEVER EVER BUY THE FRONT CAN/BOX/PACKAGE/FRUIT/VEGIE/ANYTHING! πŸ˜‰ And good man that husband who eats the gross grape for you. πŸ™‚

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Your ‘sharing’ of the spice drops reminds me of the old nursery rhyme; “Jack Sprat would eat no fat, his wife would eat no lean, betwixt them both, they ate the platter clean.” I always thought that was a very neat, if extreme, solution to “what shall we have for dinner? ” πŸ™‚

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    Your last paragraph was funny. Some things are humorous in life.

Comments are closed.