Thirty Random Days to Organized Chaos – Day 1

Organization.

It was something I used to have until we decided to add that third kid to our family, although that may debatable to those closest to me.

We started our family in an 800 square foot home. Cleaning it was a breeze, even with two children. Since we planned to have a third, we moved into a slightly larger home. I finally reached a point that if I wanted to spend quality time with my favorite people, some things had to be left for later.

Life continued, and I acquired some bad habits.

Eventually, we moved to Georgia. It was rather easy to pack up what we really wanted, while purging the unnecessary. Even though we ended up moving stuff that is still sitting in boxes almost 8 years later, I think we did pretty well. Purging the contents of those boxes is another project which will eventually have to be addressed.

And then—my motivation, desire, interest, and caring went right out the window to be replaced by the ravages of depression and grief. I should be a master at bouncing back from life altering events, because I’ve had enough experience in that area. Instead, I have become a master procrastinator.

Over the years, I’ve tried making lists, and many other creative ways to organize my chaos.  

Distraction is my nemesis.

Lists overwhelm me. My response to that revelation, was to do nothing but the bare minimum. I’m tired of spinning my wheels and getting nowhere.

6K2A0247

Because I’m a visual type of person, I came up with a system which lasted longer than any list has.

I made little tags with the daily, weekly, and monthly chores I had to accomplish. When I completed a task, the tag was removed.

I broke my visual prompts down to one day at a time. This was accomplished by displaying the tags of the chores which I believed could accomplish that day, and placing them on our kitchen island. The goal was to clear off the island before dinner.

The bonus was that The Wee One would see them, and help me out. Of course, his motivation was more allowance, but the island was cleared that way.

And life goes on. I had to adjust to more life altering experiences. The tags became more crap for the drawer, that will eventually have to be cleaned out.

Recently, I found an app for organizing daily chores. So, I sorted out all my tags by daily, weekly, monthly, and those whopper jobs. I set my app up accordingly. Each time I finish a task, I receive a gold star! clapping Who wouldn’t love a little gold star? Yippie! Does this mean I never matured beyond childhood? Oh, who cares.

Simple tactic, but it appears to be working. The goal is to receive all the gold stars for the entire day of chores–I’m still being distracted, and don’t finish everything yet. I’m going have a celebration when I have a full gold star day!

I have found some motivation. Where it came from? No clue. I have a couple of theories, but it doesn’t matter because I’m going to take advantage of it while it lasts.

Am I going to make a tutorial for you to follow my tips? Nope. I probably lost most of you after the first paragraph.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Thirty Random Days to Organized Chaos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Thirty Random Days to Organized Chaos – Day 1

  1. mewhoami says:

    You didn’t lose me. I like the idea of having physical tags for each day. I make a list which sits next to my laptop. It normally works. But, no one claps for me or gives me stars for finishing a task. Boo. Maybe I should try the app.

  2. Justin B. says:

    Kept me till the end! Your last paragraph

  3. bmagpub says:

    (Hangs head in shame) We still have a few unopened boxes from shifting 12 years ago – some packed behind the Hot Water Cylinder, under the stairs. On a brighter note, a month or so ago (oops, now about 4 months ago!) a leak in the HWC overflow caused us to rediscover a lot of our photos stored there! I like the tag system, but the ap sound great – and with no lasting build-up. Mind you, a stack of completed tags could help with a sense of accomplishment. Hope you have a good day.

    • April says:

      It was kind of nice to wipe the tags of the counter. The only problem became the motivation to decide what I thought I could handle each day. It dwindled down to laundry when we ran out of socks and underwear, and semi-cooking dinner (meaning if it didn’t come from a can, bag, or box). Everything else has built up. I was shocked by the cobwebs in our main bathroom’s ceiling. It’s the one company uses. :O

  4. suzjones says:

    What app is that my dear? It sounds terrific.
    I still get my FlyLady emails. I generally just bin them but I read one last night so it is on my to-do list today. I’m going to clear my front door/entry area and dining room. Actually I’m being forced into clearing all my sewing gear from the dining area because we bought a new dining table and chairs from a garage sale yesterday. The GG has said he will move the old dining table into our spare room so that I can move my sewing machine and stuff into there. That will make everyone happy. (Unless someone comes to stay and then we’re stuffed)!! lol

    • April says:

      The app is called Home Routines. I had to fiddle with it to make it work for me, but so far—I’m receiving at least half my stars. 🙂 Oh, and getting new furniture is always a great way to motivate, isn’t it?

  5. Gede Prama says:

    Thank you for sharing this article quite interesting and, hopefully true happiness rays began to warm our hearts, when we can share it with sincerity. Greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

  6. Cathy says:

    Nope didn’t lose me at all. I am a list keeper and have been known to overwhelm myself. Don’t know much about apps and work phone but can I get the name or what have you? My lists work fairly well. Glad to read this blog…….I am seeing you relax and that makes me happy.

    • April says:

      I used to use a ton of sticky notes. Still do, especially the important things to remember. I have to have the neon colors and place one right where I make my coffee. The app is called Home Routines. I’m trying to relax. One thing is for sure, I have learned a lot about myself through this blog. 🙂

  7. How about a gold star for striving to find what works for you. And another gold star for not giving up. And another gold star for writing with that sense of humor. 🙂

Comments are closed.