How Toads Are Like Our Thoughts

I recently watched a National Geographic documentary about the Killer Cane Toads of Australia. Those of you who live in Australia already know what I’m referring to. For those of you who don’t, I’ll fill you in.

mage by © Ingo Arndt/Minden Pictures/Corbis Photograph by Ingo Arndt, Minden/Corbis.

Image by © Ingo Arndt/Minden Pictures/Corbis Photograph by Ingo Arndt, Minden/Corbis.

They are an ugly little critter, which is not native to Australia. It was brought to the country in order to take care of another species which was destroying sugar cane crops, the cane beetles.

In Australia, the Cane Toad has no natural predator. No natural predators, equals proliferation.

I’m sure there are the same problems in other parts of the world where one species was introduced to a non-native environment to take care of some type of problem. In the southern United States, it was Kudzu. The plant grows at very rapid rates, and is hard to eradicate.

Kudzu in its dormant state. In the summer, it is beautiful, but as you can see, it destroys the native vegetation.

Kudzu in its dormant state. In the summer, it is beautiful, but as you can see, it destroys the native vegetation. (Image by me)

Some of you may find these little facts interesting, like I did. But that’s not why I write about this.

This morning, I was thinking of this documentary and how it relates to thoughts and beliefs. With the speed at which information travels these days, we are barraged with so much, there are times when it is difficult to decipher what is true and what isn’t.

The odd thing about human behavior, in my opinion, is that we tend to stick with the crap. The invasive opinions of some misguided people. People who gain fame through their noxious–or obnoxious–words.

Before we know it, the opinions of one become true facts for others. They spread the incorrect information, and we have an entire group of people who transform into an invasive species, becoming hard to eradicate because they block the facts from entering their brains.

I’m not sure where we lost our curiosity to seek more information. Why have we become so lazy that we listen to something over and over, until it becomes the truth to us whether or not there is any factual data to back it up?

My kindergarten teacher had us perform the motions of putting an invisible thinking cap on our heads, and tying the string under our chins, it’s still useful to me today. Of course, in my mind, my thinking cap looked like a dunce cap.

I’m proud to still be using that cap, as it has come in handy over the last few decades. However, I’ve had to start using chest high rubber boots (chest waders) in order to maneuver through the mounting piles of crap.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to How Toads Are Like Our Thoughts

  1. mewhoami says:

    I was just thinking about this same thing last night. While reading a news story that went viral on Facebook, I scanned down to look at the comments people wrote. Some had not even read the story, which they admitted to. They were simply commenting and forming their own opinion of the incident based off of the comments of those before them. They were accepting the opinions of others, as facts. I agree – why aren’t people curious anymore? Opinions don’t qualify as facts, but it seems like people take everything at face value these days, instead of searching for the truth. Last night’s news story comments was even more proof of that.

  2. suzjones says:

    Ugh… I hate cane toads. We get them out in our yard. Every night, the GG takes his torch and goes on cane toad patrol.
    However, I would like to point out that crows will eat a cane toad. They have worked out how to flip the toad over in order to get to their stomachs which is non-toxic. It is the back of the toad that is poisonous.
    But I really like your analogy of the toxicity of others that influences things. It is so very true.

    • April says:

      Yay! Another purpose for the crow. I really dislike them. I have only come to accept them since they chase off hawks. We have bird feeders, and I feel bad because that makes an easy hunting ground for hawks. But the crows will rally and chase them off.

      • suzjones says:

        See crows do have their good points. I find them very intelligent birds.

        • April says:

          There is a belief among a certain Native American tribe about the crow being of the spirits, bringing blessings. That also helped me to not be so annoyed by them. I swear, every time I’m outside working, or relaxing, one of them will track me and squawk relentlessly. I think I’ve posted about repetitive noises–it drives me nuts.

  3. Glynis Jolly says:

    The thought of chest boots almost made me laugh out loud. It’s true though. These days we wade through a lot of muck. When I was a kid, my mom seemed to be always asking me if what I was saying was true whenever I’d say so-and-so told me. Of course, usually it was just an opinion and my mom would ask me what the truth was. If I didn’t know, which was most of the time, she’d tell me to go find out.

    Not all parents do this. It isn’t that they’re necessarily bad parents. Probably most of them are fabulous. Still, for whatever reason, they forget to teach their kids how to think for themselves. Yes, it’s sad. No doubt about it.

    • April says:

      My parents would say something along the same line. I tried to, but I think I sat down and told my kids how to find the information. I think I should have made them find it on their own. Oh well, I can’t go back and change it–they are independent thinkers, and will research for information, so I must have done something right.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Love the idea of putting on an invisible thinking cap.

    • April says:

      My kindergarten teacher also made us start our day with part of the song from the play/movie Oklahoma. ♫ oh what a beautiful morning, oh what a beautiful day, oh what a beautiful morning..everything’s going my way ♫ Why I let that one go and started believing I was a rotten human, I seriously don’t care. I’m moving forward, I need to keep singing that song to myself. That kindergarten teacher was one smart cookie.

Comments are closed.