There Should Be An App For Stoopit

Since I yammered about the dislike of the stinkin’ cell phone, I may as well continue with another complaint.

Spell check.

Ugh!

Years ago, I could spell just about anything. In reality, there were words that I couldn’t spell, but I could get close—even ridiculous medical words, such as the names of medication.

Now, I’m always dogged by that squiggly red line under the words I type. I know I make up words, and I expect that red line, but geesh, what happened to my ability to spell? Has spell check sucked that talent from me?

If we can have a machine tell us how to spell, why don’t we have instant healthy meals prepared for us by simply pushing a button? Like they had in the Jetsons cartoon. I could seriously use a Rosie as well.

What I find beautiful about technology is the way it could make my life easier, if I could simply decipher what it is I’m supposed to do.

I found a wonderful app for my iPad to keep me organized. Within a month–or there about–I hope to have a magazine-worthy-house-beautiful.

This morning, I struggled with an attempt to transfer that app to my laptop. I was beginning to feel a bit stupid.

Until I remembered that the iPad is an Apple product—my laptop is not.

Duh!

I am a bit stoopit at times.

On the other hand, I amΒ being challenged to use my brain, which is always a good thing. Once I figure out all there is to know about technology, then all bets are off in regard to the use of my brain.

However, I won’t have to worry about whether my brain atrophies or not, because my computers will be doing the thinking for me.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to There Should Be An App For Stoopit

  1. Dave says:

    Good read. I agree with you. I find myself avoiding the use of calculators as much as possible at work for the same reason.
    Good for you taking the problem of transferring that app as a challenge rather than a barrier.

  2. suzjones says:

    Like Dave, I don’t use the calculator as much as I should at work but since some of my work is in the finance dept, I need to.
    And don’t get me started on spell check or even the grammar check!!! For a start, there is always more than one way to spell a word depending on where in the world you live….
    And April, I want photos of your Home Beautiful home πŸ˜€

    • April says:

      Some things I have to have, such as a calculator. I don’t have enough fingers or toes. πŸ™‚ I would like a punctuation check feature. That always hangs me up. I swear, the comma and the — are my favorite forms. I have no clue whether I’m using correctly. πŸ™‚
      And, I have an idea in mind. πŸ˜‰

      • April says:

        urgh. I have an idea in mind for picture postings.

      • suzjones says:

        Should we be scared??? πŸ˜‰

        • April says:

          My before pictures, most definitely. I’m sure to receive a few lifted eyebrows, head shaking, or laughter over the silly ways I go about getting things done, but it’s what I’m finding works for me. Plastering it all over the internet for anybody inclined to read it, makes me want to actually finish what I start out to do.

          • suzjones says:

            I think it speaks volumes that you are brave enough to share them April. πŸ™‚

            • April says:

              Well, if I had so much stuff that it covered the floor and we had to walk on top of 3 feet of stuff, I may not be so brave. I do have areas that would shock most organized people. πŸ™‚

  3. mewhoami says:

    That is definitely a downfall of technology. Our minds don’t have to work so hard. It started with calculators. Then we no longer had to memorize phone numbers because our phones stored them. Then came computers and we forgot how to write legibly and spell correctly. Technology is great, but I think it makes us all a little more stoopit.

  4. Some days I feel my brain cells draining right out of me. πŸ˜‰

  5. Tracy says:

    Thanks for the smiles!!!! I’m glad I’m not the only stoopit:-) one out there!!!!!

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    You are not stupid. It used to be that you couldn’t put anything into an Apple product unless it was made by Apple. Same went for Windows. However, now many products will go into both just fine. You just happened to find one of the few apps that don’t jive with both.

    As for spell check — as a student I was a little better than average in spelling, but then I became disabled, losing the ability to spell many words. It’s frustrating of course, but the spell check has saved me from unacceptable embarrassment.

    • April says:

      At least I’m determined. If I don’t know something, I will keep working until I find a solution. I’m starting to think the voice feature on the phones are nice. As long as I speak clearly, I have no problem. That’s a bonus, because it forces me to speak clear.

Comments are closed.