Put That Phone Down

The other night, while my husband was waiting for me to finish knitting “just one more row”, he was watching the 10:00 news. You know, the news before the news.

Anyway, they had a clip about Cupid’s Undie Run. I love the theory behind it–it’s to raise money for The Children’s Tumor Foundation.

At first, I pictured myself running through the streets of Atlanta in my undies.

My grannie panties and support bra, and all my jiggly parts–well, jiggling.

And then I laughed.

As I watched the fit bodies of the young people in their red undies run through the streets, I noticed several with their phones. Phones with no place to put them.

Then it irritated me.

So here are my two cents regarding cell phones.

I have a love-hate relationship with the cell phone. I didn’t get my first cell phone until I was 40-something. Yes, that’s a long time to live without the ability to take photos of my food, self portraits with my friends having a blast, and being able to be in constant contact with my friends.

My husband has had a cell phone longer than I. Actually, his was a Blackberry–the company he works for now, recently switched to iPhones. His was, and still is, an umbilical cord to his job. It’s that little contraption which inhibits him from relaxing on a weekend or vacation.

I have had a couple of positive experiences, such as the time two of my kids pulled over during a gully washer of a storm. They called to say it was raining so hard they couldn’t see, and were waiting it out. That prevented a few gray hairs. There was also a time my car died, and I needed to call for help.

Being able to contact my kids has been a bonus, but it still didn’t prove they were where they said they were going. I could have been a mom who trailed them with GPS tracking, but I wanted them to earn our trust. Ha! Sometimes that didn’t work so well with The Wee One.

I find it sad that our society has become so attached to a little piece of technology that prevents some of us from fully experiencing an event. Of course, photos are fun to look back on and recall a memory, but one has to create a memory to recall in the first place.

When I’m trying to photograph an event or family gathering, with my regular camera, I get a bit frustrated with myself when I find that I’m more focused on taking photos, than engaging in the fun.

While I understand that life evolves over time, based upon what we learn with the tools we are provided, I don’t understand letting a piece of plastic, glass, and whatever innards contained in a cell phone, prevent us from engaging with others face-to-face.

Instead of making sure we give our friends and family a play-by-play of every minute of our lives—maybe it would be nice to hold hands with the person we are with. To laugh at a joke. To do something which will create a story to tell. To justΒ be with the person we are with–even if that’s ourselves.

If I were silly enough to run through the streets in my undies, I’m not sure I would want it recorded for posterity.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Put That Phone Down

  1. aviets says:

    The picture in our paper of that event here in town only had pudgy guys in their skivvies. It was really funny. πŸ™‚ Cell phones really are a double-edged sword, but I’m really thankful to have that quick and easy connection to family at all times. -Amy

    • April says:

      I do like my cell phone most of the time. I just don’t like my husbands. πŸ™‚ As far as the undie runners–I only saw the fit guys. πŸ˜‰

  2. suzjones says:

    Sure you would April. I photo of yourself running virtually naked and shared with the world has got to be gold right? j/k
    I agree that the obsession with phones has become very noticeable. It is sad when you see a group of young people out and about and their phones are in their hands as they text rather than chat.
    I actually went mad at my son the other day because he was laying in bed and texting his wife who was out in the living area rather than getting up and opening the door or calling out. I couldn’t believe it! Crazy stuff.

  3. mewhoami says:

    I love this post! Those little leashes can have their benefits, but they certainly have a lot of downfalls as well. It saddens me to see people more focused on their phones than on the people who are around them. People don’t even make eye contact anymore. They ‘try’ to hold a conversation while their eyes are glued to the phone. I miss face time with people. With all this constant contact we have with people via phones, internet, etc, it’s odd to me how life can feel more lonely than ever.

    • April says:

      We took our oldest son’s girlfriend out to dinner last night for her birthday. Very nice meal and company. My son pulled out his phone once, because we were discussing football stats and players, and he just had to have the information at that moment because The Wee One, with the head full of sports related statistical information, was not there. My husband pulled his out right before we left the restaurant. I would call that a semi-success for a dinner without those leashes. πŸ™‚

  4. snoogiefisk says:

    I recently started a new job that doesn’t allow the use of personal cell phones during business hours. I have to say I have enjoyed it. No complaints for 8 hours every day!

    • April says:

      How nice! The issue I have with my husband, his is his work phone. He receives a constant stream of email, and a few texts. Sometimes even a call from the big man of the office. Grr.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Yes, we are a little too attached to our cell phones. I didn’t really bother with them much until we had our earthquakes and then I became unduly attached to mine. I used to have that and a torch permanently attached to my belt. 3 years on and I now feel okay enough to sometimes go out without it.

    • April says:

      Yes, I can say that there are some benefits. One time I was in our area to hide from tornadoes. I had my phone and iPad so that I could watch updates….and my youngest son was at the movies. Until I could reach him on the phone, I was in quite a bit of panic. I wish I could get my mom to carry one, and answer it. She has one, but the battery is always dead.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    As a person who dislikes the phone — any phone, I can’t understand what is so urgent about getting word that daughter just picked out a dress to buy, what will be for dinner tonight, etc. I’m astounded how much money is spent on cell phones. The whole phone craze is ludicrous to me.

    • April says:

      Seriously. My sanctuary is the craft store–I just love it there and it should be quiet so encourage creativity. πŸ™‚ Just like a library. There is nothing that irks me more than being able to hear a nasal sounding woman on the other side of the store discussing her weekend plans while browsing. What is so important about that?

  7. Valerie says:

    Yes!!!! Finally, someone other than me who doesn’t act like being “connected”, via their phone, to the world is THE most important thing ever! I have a basic cell phone and don’t have ANY plans of buying myself one with a camera or internet…EVER (or at least not until the old ones don’t exist). πŸ˜‰

    • April says:

      Hey, I see you’re from my area! I finally caved, and went to the iPhone recently. Mainly due to the calendar feature, which interfaces with the other technology I kind of rely on. I may have said this somewhere—but my daughter was commenting on how her generation is the last generation to know what it’s like to live without internet service. I wonder about some kids and how they will grow into adulthood. I know not all parents raise their children being babysat by television, or computer gadgets, but I would bet there are more than we think. I grew up playing outside, playing cards and board games, there weren’t many kid shows on television–so we played outside and used our imaginations. That’s how I raised my kids, so I’m hoping they will also pass along the same type of lessons to our grandchildren.

Comments are closed.