Oh Crap! It’s Valentine’s Day!

Trying to catch up on the blogs I have missed reading, and forming thoughts for future blog posts, I’m just chillin’. Which means, I haven’t showered, brushed my teeth, or moved from pjs to my regular something-more-comfortable attire.

As a new mom, these things were luxuries. Unless a mom wakes up in the middle of the night before their kids wake up somewhere after 5 am, personal needs are taken care of when we get a chance. For me, that was usually nap time–the afternoon nap.

Now, the luxury is not having to nag someone to get up on time, the pleasure of silence in the house, and choosing when to get dressed.

….and then I realized what day it was. This is my favorite holiday. Always has been.

Not that I believe we need a day specifically set aside to show those we love that we do, in fact, love them, I just love the day.

I seriously think that I have created some sort of break down of my abilities. I either have some physical or mental malady. Mostly, for the last several months, even though my mind is in a better place, I feel as if my body is trying to beat my mental status down.

Or……maybe it’s all an illusion to get out of picking up after myself–or doing laundry–or mopping the floor–or cleaning the bathrooms–or taking a shower.

Ha! Even though I seem to have a small head cold with an accompanying earache, I do feel a bit better today after a good night’s sleep. I know I can hoist myself up and do what I need to do.

Even though my husband and I don’t need a special day, I could get dressed in regular street clothes, and put some make up on.

Maybe I’ll do the dishes too! 🙂

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Oh Crap! It’s Valentine’s Day!

  1. Tracy says:

    Happy Valentines Day!! We have a snow day:-) so I’m still in my pj’s too!!!!!

    • April says:

      We finally made it through the snow and ice. My husband has been working from home the last two days. He went back this morning. Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

  2. mewhoami says:

    Getting dressed on Valentine’s Day is definitely a good first step. haha.

    This is where you and I are different. I don’t care for Valentine’s Day. Not because it’s not sweet, but because I have no clue how to be romantic. My husband does sweet things all year round. He’s just nice like that. I try to, but I fail miserably at it. By 9am I had already ruined today, by telling my husband I didn’t want to go out for dinner. Way to go me! 🙂 Maybe I should write a letter and make up.

    • April says:

      Don’t get me wrong, I’m not really into the romantic stuff. Oddly, it is just a day I love. Maybe it’s watching other people treat each other. I refuse to go out to dinner on Valentine’s Day, and I don’t want flowers. I am just happy to spend time with my husband. But like yours, he does nice things all year. Some like Halloween (not my favorite), I just like Valentine’s Day. 😀

  3. suzjones says:

    Nothing says “I love you” like doing the dishes. 😛 😀
    Seriously, we don’t do Valentines really although I made him a card and he bought me one. We had two of the children here, my daughter in law and her sister so we watched a movie and had a lot of laughs. That was enough.

  4. Hmmm… Maybe I’ll make the bed…and…dare I…take out the dreaded trash?

  5. Gallivanta says:

    So if there was snow and ice, does that mean you had your pjs on inside out? Did the pj trick work?

    • April says:

      Hahaha! I forgot about that. I do like the snow, but we had a lot of freezing rain. Luckily, it only lasts a day or so. 🙂

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Of course, I’m not getting to your post until the next day, but that’s typical of me. I wanted to do something nice for my husband but he hasn’t been feeling well. He has an appointment with the doctor for Monday morning in hopes of getting rid of whatever he has. I usually fix him his favorite dinner for occasions like this. His meat loaf, baked potatoes, and mix vegetables will have to wait until St. Patrick’s Day.

    I hope your Valentine’s Day was happy.

    • April says:

      Thank you Glynis. I hope your husband is feeling better. I usually fix one my husband’s favorite dinners. Usually it is something fried, but I have only fried things a couple of times throughout our marriage. He has other options, though–meatloaf is one of his favorites too.

  7. freddy says:

    I forgot it was Valentine’s Day until a coworker gave me a cute, little card. Then again, everyone was given one, so it wasn’t as special as I’d hoped, LOL.

    • April says:

      If we weren’t blasted with it in the stores right after Christmas, I may totally forget about it—even if it is my favorite day. 🙂

Comments are closed.