Okay, Then Who Am I?

While thinking of the question of what makes me me, I realized that I’m not sure I know who I am.

Are we who we are because of the profession we choose? Our creative ability? How we treat others? How intelligent we are?

How about our strengths? Our weaknesses? Our desires?

Do we see ourselves as others see us?

I definitely know that appearance doesn’t make us who we are, or does it?

I was born with red hair. I hated it. There were three redheads in my elementary school. My brother, another girl in my class, and me. Oh, what I would have given to have been a blonde or brunette. I was shy–if I had a different color of hair, I would have been able to blend in, not stand out.

Would that have changed who I am today? Is that part of who I am? The color of my hair?

If asked, what makes you you?

We would have to know who we truly are, wouldn’t we?

If you had to answer this question, could you answer it in one paragraph?

What do ya know, I have a little bit of philosophical thinking stored in that section of my brain where such things are stored.

I know one thing, depression or anxiety isn’t what made me me—or is it?

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Okay, Then Who Am I?

  1. You are really in the philosophical corner this days πŸ˜€
    It demands many word to describe April.
    I could say, I am- a woman, what is inside this woman? etc etc
    Now you forced me to mind again πŸ™‚
    Irene

  2. Pingback: Good Question | Dearest Depression

  3. Grndma Chris says:

    I know for me it helped make me stronger and more aware of feelings but I am getting better at controlling it rather that it control me. My daughter also suffers from anxiety, depression and OCD, so I will do my best to guide her life’s maze of emotions both high and low. Very good post.

  4. mewhoami says:

    That is an excellent question. What makes me me? I would say it is a variety of many things; what manners and morals were instilled in me as a child, what I witnessed as a child, my mistakes as I grew up, the choices I made, the failed relationships I had and all the lessons I learned from each of those categories. I would say my appearance also, as said as that is to say. Appearance shouldn’t matter, but it does. Guys liked me because of my blonde hair and blue eyes and girls disliked me for the same reasons. So I had a lot of guy friends, which caused me to have tougher skin and hide my feelings just as they do. I learned to ‘man up” to my problems, which in turn caused problems.

    I guess that’s my paragraph. Thanks for the thought provoking question. I always like those.

    • April says:

      I had the same problem with guy friends, and girls hating me. In fact, we moved from the Seattle area to Eastern Oregon the summer between my junior and senior year of high school. I have a lot of guy friends from that year, some still friends. I can’t say the same for the girls. I briefly dated one boy, who has since committed suicide. I was never a threat to these girls – but if we could figure out teen girls, then maybe we could make some money off it. πŸ™‚ Great paragraph!

  5. suzjones says:

    Who are you? (as I see you).
    You are a devoted wife and compassionate and loving mother. You are capable and strong (even though you don’t feel like it half the time). You know your own mind and what you want from life. You are not afraid to question things and if that means getting another opinion then you will. You love animals. You have an analytical mind and this shows in your ‘fixit’ attitude. You are creative. You are on a journey of self discovery although who you are is already apparent to so many of us.

    • April says:

      You are a very observant and insightful person Sue. I think I’m having problem not being able to summarize it without rambling on. I’m getting closer though.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    I believe that who I am today is not actually who I was, completely at least, yesterday or who I’ll be tomorrow. I’m an evolving creation.

    No, what is known as your health disorders is not who you are. As for your red hair, when I was young, you know, in my 30s somewhere, I was dying my hair red. Not a bright red or even a rich auburn, just more red than the natural red highlights I have. Yes, you probably did get some bad jokes thrown at you as a kid, but I, for one, like red hair.

    • April says:

      I grew to love my red hair. Sadly, the older I get, the darker it becomes–now scattered with a lot of gray. When I’m in the sun, it’s pretty red. I like to say I have an expensive head of hair–I have some copper, a lot of silver, and some gold mixed in.

      Yes, we are constantly evolving.

  7. Gallivanta says:

    It’s tricky. I doubt I could answer the question in one paragraph. I don’t know that I could answer it at all.

Comments are closed.