Dreaming of Being a Force to be Reckoned With

Last night, we were watching NCIS Los Angeles. I like the original NCIS because of all the character dynamics. I love the Los Angeles version, because who wouldn’t love to watch a bunch of hunky men with guns take down the bad guys.

Anyway, last night, in the opening scene, a bad guy snatched the purse of a woman walking down a street. Of course, she stood there and yelled stop, or help, or some such girly thing–and some hunky guy with a gun and a badge, went after the purse snatcher.

I would like to think that if my purse were snatched, I would draw on my inner—April, Rebel Warrior, chase that thief, and take him down myself.

6K2A9721

In reality, I would probably laugh, and say have fun with that. It seriously goes with your outfit.

I really don’t have anything of much value in my purse. the only cards I carry are a thick stack of those store cards (you know, the discount, or points cards). I definitely will not have money, except for the pennies at the bottom, and I don’t carry credit cards. I do carry a wallet, but it is completely void of any contents.

My debit card may be an issue, as well as my driver’s license. That may cause me to stay up at night wondering if the snatcher will come to my house since they have my address, and maybe my keys. Well–there might be my phone as well–if I remember to take it with me.

The most valuable thing in my purse, would be my pint-sized Leatherman Multi-tool. I feel like such a Girl Scout when a friend is having some sort of challenge with something, and I can whip out my handy dandy tool that can do anything.

6K2A0089

β™«Here she comes to save the dayβ™«

(okay, some of you may not know what this little ditty refers to–it is from a cartoon, Mighty Mouse that I believed stopped in the late 60’s)

Why do I even carry a purse?

Meh, you never know—I might suddenly realize I need those band aids, and mini hand wipes that have been stashed in there since the 90’s. I would definitely need the hoard of receipts. πŸ˜‰

If my purse were to be stolen, the beautiful thing would be that I would have an excuse to go purse shopping–online of course.

**Update**The vacuum cleaner was fixed. I only had one screw left over, but it seems to work fine without it. Works just like new, and makes much less noise.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dreaming of Being a Force to be Reckoned With

  1. aviets says:

    Congrats on the vacuum – well done! My mother-in-law was attacked by a purse snatcher one time, years ago. She hung on to her purse, kicked the guy, and gave him a good telling off. I just wish I’d been there to see it. -Amy

  2. I’m glad you didn’t get purse snatched, but, I’m sure you would use your inner “April, Rebel Warrior” if you did!

  3. mewhoami says:

    Rebel Warrior! That would be fun and would make a very entertaining blog post I’m sure. I’d feel pretty ‘manly’ if I carried around a Leatherman. Those are great to have. I should go get one. The most important item in my purse (besides kleenex, debit card and license of course) is my container of mace. Aside from that, they’d only get a few pennies and maybe a couple of gum wrappers.

    Good to hear your vacuum is working again. That must be a relief. I took your advice and cleaned the hair out of the roller bar on mine the other day. It’s more powerful now. Thanks!

    • April says:

      I see I’m reaching people with my vacuum cleaner experience. There are a few that have been fixed lately. πŸ™‚ I think I’ve posted about the Rebel Warrior. I will have to dig through some of my old posts.

  4. suzjones says:

    Oh April. You so make me laugh at times. I’m glad you’ve fixed your vacuum cleaner as well.
    I have actually got a post planned about handbags and their contents. I just have to pull it all together lol
    Have a beautiful day my friend. And thanks for the smile.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    I remember that line, so well. And you did save the day, with the vacuum cleaner. Lol! that’ll teach anyone who snatches your handbag. I would love to be able to live without a handbag. They really drag on the shoulder!

    • April says:

      I know, mine is heavy. Since I don’t have much in there, I’m not so sure why it’s so heavy. Maybe it’s time to clean it out.

  6. haelanra says:

    Oooh, your Leatherman tool knife thingy looks so cool. πŸ˜‰ I wish they sold those things more commonly in Korea, too.

Comments are closed.