What Does Your Car Say About You?

Apparently, the color of my car says something about me. That’s what the distracting headline snagged me with when I signed on to my homepage.

I happen to drive a white car, which is supposed to mean I want to present a fresh, young, modern face to the outside world. It goes on further to say, that I have a sense of elegance, and that the color white is associated with honesty and purity.

Well now—that just cracks me up. I drive a white car because between the one we purchased and the other one on the lot, which was red by the way, the white one had all the features I was looking for. The red one did not.

I have never purchased a car with a color specific idea in mind. A car gets me from point A to point B. I would like one with air conditioning, but beyond that, I don’t really care. It is nice to have power steering, a heater, and electronic windows, but I can live without them.

In the past, the car meant for me to drive had to be a hauler. Three kids, with their friends, didn’t fit into a Toyota Corolla very easily. As most parents with multiple kids know, and will admit to it, our angelic children must be separated so that they can’t touch each other. For some reason, a child seems to have a larger personal zone in a vehicle than any other place—except the dinner table.

That’s why we got the minivan with the three rows of seats. Our daughter was placed in the very back and the two boys in the second row, with a bunch of crap placed in between them.

It didn’t matter what color the minivan was, because we all know what a minivan says about us. However, a minivan is my vehicle of choice. Next to a 1961 Volkswagen Beatle, I love driving minivans.

So, if in fact, the color of my car says something about me, I better get out there and wash the thing. It’s supposed to be white, but it’s covered in dirt, with outlines of cat prints, and fingerprints. I can guess what that says about me. I’m pretty sure it’s not young, fresh, elegant, or pure.

What interests me—who thinks up this stuff? Do people actually research what your car color says about you? If they do, how much do you think they get paid? Are they just pulling things from the air to write about? I can do that—-and if the pay is good—well hell…..

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to What Does Your Car Say About You?

  1. Hahahaha I agree with you, who cares what colour it is as long as it is practical, and gets me from A to B I’m happy.

  2. suzjones says:

    Too funny. Wonder what it says about us when we have three cars at our house – one (very faded) navy blue, a red one and yellow one! lol

    • April says:

      The article said that red says “look at me!” and I think the yellow car they said that most young people are drawn to the color because it means fun and happy. Can’t recall the blue–but there you go, someone’s professional opinion about what your cars say about you. πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      Yellow also means joyful and having a sense of humor.

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Sadly, I think they do research this stuff!

  4. aviets says:

    This post is funny to me because when we first bought my white van that I love so much, the dealer tried to sell me on it by telling me that white is the most popular color for vehicles. That still cracks me up – why would I care what color is popular? That is SO not a selling point for me. What sold us on the van was the price, the mileage, and condition, and the fact that – as you say – we could separate the kids in it to keep them from killing each other! -Amy

    • April says:

      I do have to admit, my husband is a chooser of color. He has a black truck. It had to be black. Not sure why, but I know that his truck always looks cleaner than mine. White is tough to keep it looking spiffy.

  5. iyaya10 says:

    When I was 16, I wanted a car period, didn’t care. When I was 23, I wanted the flashiest car I could find. At 27, after my second child, I wanted a “cool mom” SUV to fit both, and I wanted dark gray with enough trunk space. Now at 33, and 3 kids, as we are smashed into the “cool mom 2 row SUV”… I’m back to just wanting anything that involves 3 rows, and will even accept a school bus:)

    • April says:

      We moved from a minivan to a Suburban with three rows. Had to have the separation factor. We got the Suburban because we had a travel trailer—which we no longer have because I refuse to camp any more. I would rather stay home and have a campfire in the back yard. The Suburban was like driving a school bus, and parking it was an acquired skill, but it saved me from many hair pulling sessions—or from having to pull off the road and give “the speech” to the kid that said just one more word.

  6. Tracy says:

    I’m glad you got white instead of red:-) “they” say red catches the eye of the police more often than any color!!!!! Mine is silver…does that say I’m old??!!! In Vermont the recommend not getting a black car because of all the salt. That one sort of makes sense!!!!!

    • April says:

      Oh wait!!! My car is Pearl. That means I’m glamorous, exciting, and sophisticated. Ha! Silver means futuristic, prestigious, and elegant.

      • Tracy says:

        Oh I love it!!!!!! Have you seen the new neon bright colors?? I wonder what they mean?!!

        • April says:

          I have seen the neon colors. I read an article a while back that because there are so many boring white, black, silver cars—the person wanted a car that stood out. That way they could be seen among all the plain colored cars. His theory is that he would be seen and less likely to be smashed into. Makes sense to me.

  7. Dave says:

    Just curious, what does the color of salt used to treat winter roads say about a person. That is the dominant color of all vehicles in our area for the last month.

  8. vicbriggs says:

    Umm… I’ve never been persuaded by the idea that a car has much to say about its owner πŸ™‚

  9. Yeah, I have my car because it was affordable and met my needs, nothing to do with the color. And it’s pretty old – a 2000. I’m not getting a new one until this one dies on me. Guess, that shows how much I care what my car says about me.

    And the kids in the car thing totally true. When we were kids we fought over who got to sit where, who was touching the other one, who had to sit in the sun the longest. Maybe it’s the confined space?

    • April says:

      The car (Suburban hauler) we sold, was 14 years old. It was really starting to fall apart. The repairs were stacking up…so now it’s someone else’s problem.

      When I was a kid, my dad liked to take us camping. I’m not sure how he carried all the camping gear, except in the trunk, or in a car top carrier. We had one of those funky 1960’s cars. I don’t know what it was, except the color was copper, and had those wing things off the end that remind me of bat wings. Anyway, four of us kids were stuffed into the backseat. The biggest fight was who had to sit next to my brother. Then, my mom got hit by a train–nobody hurt–just the car. After the accident, that became known as our station wagon years. A bit more room, but a whole set of new arguments to torture my parents with. Like, who got to lie in the way back, and if we had to share that back space or not.

      • Ha! My aunt had a Ford Taurus wagon and we used to fight over who got to sit in the very back, facing out the back window–we liked to make faces at the cars behind us…

        • April says:

          Haha! We liked to do the same thing. Sometimes it was just waving, but a lot of times it was faces, or plastering up against the window lip syncing ‘help me’!

  10. Cathy says:

    There are so many wasteful studies it is just awful. Between that and people not having to have common sense, as in,,,the coffee is hot, I am not sure about very many things. I fear common sense has about disappeared….I have always wanted a blue car to be the one I get. But as with most I go with safe, point a to b, and room for me to feel like I have something around me. I have actually thought about a scooter, as well as my car, but sort of think I will feel vulnerable without so much stuff around me with cars whizzing past.

  11. mewhoami says:

    I don’t think that article would work for me either. We buy whichever car runs, looks good and is good on gas. The color of the car is typically not even considered prior to purchasing a vehicle. Maybe if we had the money to pick a specific color we would, but as it stands we get what we can get. A couple years ago it was blue. Now it’s silver and who knows what it’ll be next year.

    • April says:

      To be totally honest, if my only choice was orange, I think we would keep looking. There are many car lots to choose from. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.