Stretchy Fibers–a Woman’s Dream Come True

Stretchy fibers were a wonderful addition to jeans. Not the old time polyester looking stuff— someone created stretchy things to look more appealing. Those fibers always help on the bloat days, or the holidays. There is a little stretch without having to release that top button.

For some reason, designers decided that if elastic type fibers were added, the size can be reduced. It took me a couple of “lessons” to learn that.

When the size charts of women’s clothing started to evolve into new configurations–like size 4 is the new 10, or something-or-other, I have been wandering through the clothing aisles, baffled by which size to pick. Which is only partial fact. I don’t like clothes shopping, I like to purchase online. Needles to say, I have had to return more than a few articles of clothing.

Prior to having children, I wore a smaller size–I was skinny. Today, that size, if I go according to the labeled size, certainly isn’t the same as it was 25 years ago. But what do I know, I can’t even get a leg in my 25-year-old jeans. I don’t even know why I have those jeans. Oh my–it’s more of the hoarding!

When the style of jeans changed to low rise, which we used to call hip huggers in the 70’s, the frustration really set in. I didn’t want to wear mom jeans, I wanted to be a cool mom, but it got a little breezy on my backside when trying to wear the new fashion jeans. I finally found a designer who produces jeans which sit higher on the waist. Over the muffin, but not as high as the armpits—and they’re made with stretchy fabric. Bending over is no longer an acrobatic feat, to keep prying eyes from getting a glimpse of a place I would rather keep covered. Getting back up is a different story.

Oh! If you listen to Weight Watchers hypnotic speeches proclaiming that Marilyn Monroe was a size 12, don’t fall for it! Cross referencing with today’s sizes, that would make her a very small, curvy woman.

I try to avoid anything that has a stretchy type of material listed. Plain old “preshrunk” cotton is what I look for. 

I am a huge NFL fan. The Seattle Seahawks is my team of choice. I have an urge to hoard t-shirts adorned with logos revolving around the Seattle Seahawks—many of them.

There was a time, when designers didn’t believe that women could actually like football. I guess when enough of us complained about having to wear the boxy men’s shirts, they started making apparel for the ladies….

….with stretchy fibers added to the cotton, which makes the shirts sneak into all our divots, and stretch across all our rolling mounds. That means I have to order two sizes larger than I would normally wear, in order to avoid feeling as if I’m trying to stuff myself into my petite daughter’s clothing.

Perhaps, most of today’s ladies fashions are meant to be worn over a nice Spanx-something-or-other. Ha! The lady who invented these devices of sweat producing containment, is from the South. Why would a person living in the South want to add additional layers of plastic over their sweaty skin?

*sigh* I suppose the solution is to exercise and continue to eat healthy. One way or another, I will have to cave in, and quit wearing mu-mus, sweatpants, and my 25-year-old shorts which have an elastic waistband. Even though I feel pressured to contain my body imperfections with Spanx, I won’t be wearing them in the South.

I like my jeans, they’re beautifully stretchy.

Hope you find something beautiful today.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Stretchy Fibers–a Woman’s Dream Come True

  1. vicbriggs says:

    The smell of a new book. That is always beautiful to me 🙂

  2. aviets says:

    I love the magical stretching fabric too, except for the times I’ve bought jeans that stretch out so much in the first hour or so that I’m constantly hitching up my pants…but even those are so comfortable I can’t complain too much.

    • April says:

      I was going to include that in my story—maybe that’s why they make them in a size we have to squish into. It leaves room for stretch. 🙂

  3. mewhoami says:

    “Layers of plastic” – too funny! Who would want to wear saran wrap on a hot day? Won’t deny that it hides the extra curves though. I’ve never understood hip huggers. When a person’s moon isn’t showing, their muffin top is hanging over the waistline. It’s either one or the other. Very rarely does a person look good in them, not in my opinion.

  4. I LOVE my stretchy jeans. I won’t even consider buying ones that aren’t stretchy. Why would I want all of that constricting denim around my waist? I always feel bad for my husband when he puts his jeans on and they are a little tight around the waist and mine just keep on stretching. Sometimes, though, they actually get a little too stretchy and then I have to *gasp* wash them!

    And I’m with you on the T-shirt thing–regular cotton, please! Otherwise, the fabric is too clingy and shows off any rolls, bulges, etc.

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    I have never liked the stretchy stuff. I find it cumbersome. Like you stated somewhere in the middle of this post, I prefer the pre-shrunk cotton.

  6. Gallivanta says:

    The vexed issue of sizing. Grrr! It’s a universal problem.

  7. suzjones says:

    The worst part about having ‘stretch’ in the jeans is when you have been wearing them for a couple of hours and the stretch stays ‘stretched’ and the jeans become baggy! *sigh*

    • April says:

      There is a trick to that—the right designer. The jeans I found are quite pricey, but I tend to have them for many years, so they average out. I just have to save up for a pair. 🙂

Comments are closed.