Change of Ways

I will no longer write about my depression. I have it, it’s my burden to bear. I have worked VERY hard to reach a stable mental state. I now see things far more clearly than I have ever seen them.

Depression, anxiety, attention deficit disorder, or obsessive thoughts, do not define who I am. I’m a person inside all the crap. Sometimes it’s a fragile person, sometimes funny, but most times–determined and strong.

I don’t wish to hide my struggles, but it is easier to be who I am by not focusing on what I have been through. I have felt the need to defend myself, and I shouldn’t have to do this.

…..and we wonder why there is such a stigma against mental illness.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Change of Ways

  1. mewhoami says:

    I agree. No one should feel that they must defend themselves for what they’re going through, whatever it may be. You’re a great writer and no matter what the topic, I look forward to reading your words.

  2. aviets says:

    Yay for you! I have to tell you, though – whatever you choose to write about I want to read it! 🙂
    -Amy

  3. You shouldn’t have to defend yourself about what you write, it’s your experience, so who is anyone to say anything that you should have to defend. Don’t let the few who choose to be like this define your writing or upset you, they aren’t worth the stress. You are one of the strongest woman I know, your life has been hard, but it shows people that through extreme adversity you can reach the other side. You are a role model, a mentor and an advocate. I like many others enjoy your blog, and gain something from you every time you write. Stay strong, be yourself and don’t let anyone change that because you are beautiful…..xxxxx

  4. suzjones says:

    Hey, I’ll read whatever you throw at me gal!! 🙂

  5. You go girl. Looking forward to your stories.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Although I applaud this new outlook on life and hope you continue it, talking about what bothers you isn’t a bad think. I do think the negative stigma placed on mental illness is less than it’s been in the past. People are finding out the mental illness doesn’t define the person. There are some stubborn ones out there though who can seem to get pass that short little wall.

    • April says:

      I’m one of the stubborn ones. However, if all I write about is the struggle, the I can’t reach the goal of accepting myself—warts and all.

  7. one way to do that is to simplify your life. Like if blogging a lot is a real chore then cut back or just watch a new program that you like that you can get into.

Comments are closed.