You Really Like Me….

I’m channeling my inner Sally Field.

Awards. I’m going to answer all the questions, and at the end, I will create a post listing some blogs I find interesting so that y’all can check them out. I hope I recognize everyone’s nominations and don’t miss someone. I’m truly humbled by your recognition.

I’m not much of an award acceptor. I once earned an Employee of the Year award–right after a horrible co-worker earned the award the year before. I believed that it reflected upon me and my work ethic–and it wasn’t good. I also earned an award for Volunteer of the Year from my kid’s elementary school. I didn’t show up to the ceremony because I was busy volunteering for something else. I actually won some awards for a couple of my photographs, which inspired me.

I will break these nominations down, and then create a post listing some of my favorite blogs.

So—here you go:

From Me – Who Am I. This lovely lady nominated me for the Versatile Blogger award. I really like her writing style, as she shares information in a way that I may not have considered. Other than the fact that I believe she is in better shape, and is more athletic–but just about everyone is more athletic than I, we have some very common threads which connect us.

Here are seven things I must reveal about myself – according to the Versatile Blogger rules. I’m electing to break all the other rules.

1) I can’t live without coffee. Straight up, although I will indulge in one of those fru-fru types from time to time just to be sure I’m not missing something.

2) I can’t live without my cats. They are the fuel that feeds my calmness–if I ever need to be calm.

3) I am mostly high strung, but oddly enough, people believe I’m a laid back kind of person. Therefore, I should win an Academy Award, because my acting must be great, or my cats are that wonderful. (see number 2)

4) My husband is nearly 2 years younger than I (or is it me–another insecurity–grammar, punctuation, and syntax), so I suppose that makes me a cougar. He believes we are the same height, which could be a fact—as long as I don’t wear my cowboy boots if he is wearing his tennies.

5) I’m a skilled procrastinator, but any of you who follow my blog probably already know this.

6) Stubbornness is a personality trait I am most proud of. Not only has it helped me recover from depression, but when I find a cause worthy of fighting for, I go for it. I’m like a dog with a bone.

7) Sharing my photography is rather difficult for me. In order to avoid criticism, I publicly post photos I already know are flawed. I don’t post the photos which are actually good.

Check out my friend’s blog, Me – Who Am I, she is among my favorite bloggers.

Stay tuned for more.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to You Really Like Me….

  1. aviets says:

    Hey, congrats! Well-deserved. πŸ™‚ -Amy

  2. mewhoami says:

    You deserve it! I really enjoyed your answers, particularly #7. It’s easy (easier) to receive negative feedback on things we already know is flawed. To receive it on something we are proud of can be crushing. Straight up coffee? We differ on that one for sure. πŸ™‚ I’m a sugar and flavored creamer type of gal.

    • April says:

      Thank you! I actually don’t mind critique on my photos, it gives me a chance to learn how to improve. That’s too bad about the coffee, you con’t get the full flavor with sugar and cream added. πŸ™‚

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Congratulations on your award and your prize-winning photography πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      They were a 3rd and 4th place, but it was a start to move into the scary. This year I have a goal of winning a first place prize. In fact, I would like to beat out the guy in our club who wins first place every year. That would be goal number two in the photography department. πŸ™‚

  4. suzjones says:

    April, you are too hard on yourself. If your photography is flawed, it is only you who notices. Be kind to yourself girl.
    Congrats on the award though!! Well done and all that. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      Thanks! I know I am my own worst critic. Been working on that too–I think it puts me in a vulnerable place, and I need to know I will live through vulnerability. I always have. πŸ™‚

  5. Congrats!

    As you know, I’m a cat person too. I can’t even imagine living in a house without one, or two or three… πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      Yes! Unfortunately, or is it fortunately? I have a boomerang kids who brought his two cats with him. We now have 5 house cats. Good for me! Bad for my husband who tolerates them. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.