Mind Reading

Being a female, men should be able to read my mind. Nah, not really—I’m not one of those with my head up my rear trying to use telepathy in order to be heard or understood.

However, I do have a mouth, and I believe my husband and I speak the same language. Last time I checked, there were things on the side of his head which appear to look like ears. For some reason, he can’t understand my dialect.

My mom, has been blessed with the same challenge. Y’all need to get your hearing checked! I believe I have nagged them both, for years, to make one simple trip to the ear doctor.

It be wonderful if I could have one of those cartoon speech bubbles. One that displays my words in the air as I speak. It would work for my husband, but unfortunately, my mom still wouldn’t be able hear me because she can’t see either. Being the meany I am, I did succeed in forcing my mom to make an appointment with the eye doctor before she returned home, because there is a wait list at the eye doctor.

So……I’m just going to jack up the sound of the football game, and pretend I can’t hear anything they are saying either. Oddly, my cats hear me fine. If they don’t hear, they have a great way of pretending they do. They never ask me to repeat either.

Sometimes, being an introvert has its rewards. At least I don’t have to have a conversation with anyone if I don’t feel like it—they can’t hear me anyway.

Silence can be beautiful.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mind Reading

  1. aviets says:

    Wow, sounds familiar. I live so much inside of my head I sometimes miss what’s going on around me…and my husband has both a significant hearing loss and ADHD, so he misses pretty much everything. It’s a wonder we every communicate at all. -Amy

  2. suzjones says:

    I prefer silence most of the time. But conversation can occur in this home on occasion. šŸ˜€

  3. My husband can hear me. But he’s the type that gets so interested in a football game, I could be speaking fluent Greek all of a sudden and he wouldn’t notice. He would just nod his head in agreement šŸ™‚

  4. mewhoami says:

    There are times in this house when people seem to lose their hearing abilities too. We each take turns. I’m just as guilty as them, although our reasons are all different. It can be frustrating, and I agree with suzjones. I prefer silence.

    • April says:

      Silence. The stuff I have always had to get up way before the kids roused to enjoy. Now, most of the day is silence. šŸ˜¦ However, I’m really liking it.

Comments are closed.