When Others Touch Our Hearts

Special people enter our lives and have more impact on us than some people we have known many years.

I met a one of these special people through a mutual friend of ours. We have only conversed through social media, and parts of our lives parallel each others.

She lost her brother to complications of Type 1 Diabetes, the same disease that took my brother and sister.

The biggest difference between us, she was proactive dealing with the loss of her brother. I let grief and depression overcome my life.

She trained hard, and cycled for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Fund. Her first event was in Lake Tahoe, and the next year she rode in Tennessee. She wrote about her adventure here. She is an inspiration to me because she set a goal to help her through her grief, and didn’t take the path I did of becoming the best accessory to our couch. She often tried to encourage me to train so that I could join her.

We have only “talked” over the internet, but I feel such a kinship with her.

Not too long after her last ride, she was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer. Only 2000-3000 people per year are diagnosed with the type of cancer she is fighting. She made a decision to become healthy and worked hard for that healthy body, only to be blindsided by a vicious disease.

If I ever want to be someone other than who I am, I would want to be her. She has maintained her sense of humor and continues to work full time, while fighting all sorts of sadistic measures the doctors torture her with.

I told her that I feel like I have an odd sense of survivor’s guilt. My cancer battle was short. It was found by accident, and it took a bunch of foot stomping on my part, but since I pushed, I am supposedly “cured”. I didn’t have to receive any poisonous chemo, or radiation. I didn’t lose my hair, just months of sleep.

I’m so grateful that my story played out the way it has, but I’m mostly grateful, and honored to know such a person.

If you are the praying type, please say a prayer for my friend, Lisa. If you are a positive wisher type, please send all your positive vibes her way.

She’s one of the beautiful ones.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to When Others Touch Our Hearts

  1. That must be so scary! I will keep her in my prayers and thoughts.

  2. Gallivanta says:

    Positive wishes and prayers, both.

  3. mewhoami says:

    What an inspiration she sounds to be. It’s such a blessing that you’ve had the chance to have her in your life and vice versa. She’ll be in my prayers.

    • April says:

      Thank you so much. I feel lucky to know her, and my sister was the same way. They are the people who teach us how to live.

  4. Prayers being said. Sounds like you are both blessed to have one another in your lives.

  5. Cathy says:

    So glad you found Lisa April….good for you and good for her!!! So sorry to hear about her cancer…will pray and send positive juju her way. Can’t read her stuff as the link didn’t work for me but no need. I am so sorry for her findings but so grateful that she is giving you inspiration!! Happy happy new Year April. And how is the couch doing without it’s best accessory? hugs to you as always…

    • April says:

      She might have to approve the link. Anyway, she wrote about mile 23–a mile where the cyclists ride in silence, in memory of those who have lost their lives to Type 1 Diabetes. Her story made me sob, she had to pull over, and she recognized all the people she has personally known, and even made a little remembrance of my sister and brother. Sometimes, I wish I had that magic wand. And my couch? It’s being overcome by the cats. 🙂

  6. Sending prayers AND positive vibes.

Comments are closed.